Republic of Ireland’s 23 man squad for EURO 2012

Giovanni Trapattoni today (May 29) submitted his 23 player list to UEFA for EURO 2012.

Commenting on the selection, Giovanni Trapattoni said;

“With the injuries that we experienced in the squad over the past week, I have had to make a tough decision when it comes to naming the 23 players that must be submitted to UEFA for the championship. Kevin Foley, John O’Shea, Paul McShane, Darren O’Dea, Shay Given had all been carrying knocks and we have been monitoring them closely in their recovery. Although Kevin has been recovering well, I have made the difficult decision to leave him out of the 23 player list after completing fitness tests on John O’Shea and Paul Mc Shane this morning. I have spoken to him and understand how difficult it is, saying that he can remain with the squad if he wishes.”

Republic of Ireland squad numbers, UEFA EURO 2012

1              Shay Given                                         20/04/76

2              Sean St Ledger                                  28/12/84

3              Stephen Ward                                   20/08/85

4              John O’Shea                                       30/04/81

5              Richard Dunne                                  21/09/79

6              Glenn Whelan                                   13/01/84

7              Aiden McGeady                               04/04/86

8              Keith Andrews                                  13/09/80

9              Kevin Doyle                                        18/09/83

10           Robbie Keane                                    08/07/80

11           Damien Duff                                      02/03/79

12           Stephen Kelly                                    06/09/83

13           Paul Mc Shane                                  06/01/86

14           Jonathan Walters                             20/09/83

15           Darron Gibson                                   25/10/87

16           Keiren Westwood                           23/10/84

17           Stephen Hunt                                    01/08/81

18           Darren O’Dea                                    04/02/87

19           Shane Long                                         22/01/87

20           Simon Cox                                           28/04/87

21           Paul Green                                         10/04/83

22           James McClean                                 22/04/89

23           David Forde                                        20/12/79


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.