Ireland shock Great Britain to win Dubarry Boyne Trophy

The Irish eventing quartet of Mark Kyle, Liz Power, Mike Ryan and Camilla Speirs  snatched the Dubarry Boyne Trophy from the British team as Kildare’s Camilla Speirs romped home in first place in the final, cross country phase at Tattersalls International Horse Trials in Co. Meath,on Sunday.

In the Irish Field CCI3* class, however, British Olympian William Fox-Pitt held onto his overnight lead to take first place with the Irish Sport Horse Bay My Hero, with another Irish Sport Horse in the runner-up slot, Sugar Brown Babe ridden by Ireland’s Sarah Ennis.

Ireland narrowed the gap on the British lead in the Boyne team competition this morning with clear rounds in show jumping from Speirs, Mark Kyle and Mike Ryan, but a sizzling zero score performance on the cross country track this afternoon from the 22 year-old Speirs and the Irish Sport Horse Portersize Just a Jiff clinched the trophy.

The George Mernagh Memorial CIC3* class also saw Ireland take a total of eight places in the top ten, with Aoife Clark and the Irish Sport Horse Master Crusoe in second, and Capt. Geoff Curran on yet another Irish Sport Horse, The Jump Jet, in third place.

All of Ireland’s Dubarry Boyne Trophy team were top ten finishers.

The Irish team was:

Mark Kyle/Coolio

Liz Power/September Bliss

Mike Ryan/Ballylynch Adventure

Camilla Speirs/Portersize Just a Jiff

The British team was:

Millie Dumas /Action Packed

Polly Stockton/Regulus

Ruth Edge/Two Thyme

Oliver Townend/Armada


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.