Wicklow v London: Christy Ring Cup final live updates

We have live score commentary updates from Wicklow v London in the Christy Ring Cup Final, 4:30pm Saturday 9th June, Croke Park

Visit our Partner site Euroodds.co.uk for the latest Euro 2012 odds, tips and betting


Wicklow manager, Casey O’ Brien, believes his charges are in a better mental state than this time last year and are ready to win the Christy Ring Cup, after falling at the final hurdle last year.
The Garden County lost to Kerry by 13 points in the 2011 final but after a string of impressive displays, Wicklow will be favourites to go one better this time around.
“Hopefully both players and management have learned from the mistakes of last year,” said O’Brien.
“Going to Croke Park was an experience. We have another 70 minutes hurling still and that is going to be tough.”
They have no fresh injury concerns and will be riding a wave of confidence after their 3-17 to 2-12 win over Meath in the semi-final stage.
London have put in a colossal effort in the last few weeks and months to reach the final, an effort compounded by a deserved win over Down in the semi-final. However, as throughout the competition, London will be the underdogs in this game, with the pressure firmly on the Leinster outfit.
With no new injury worries, London can look forward to Croke Park and their shot at glory.
“It (Croke Park) is the place you want to be, playing in an All-Ireland final at Croke Park. We’re looking forward to next Saturday,” said Exiles manager, Eamonn Phelan.

“It took serious character to respond in the way we did. We’re still a new team – there’s only three or four left from last year and the players need time to gel. But these lads are serious hurlers. A lot of our games have been away this year, and we said we weren’t going to lose it at home today. The players stood up.”

London team:
1 Tommy Williams (Kilburn Gaels), 2 Eddie Walsh (Robert Emmetts), 3 Brian Costello (St. Gabriels), 4 Ger Fennelly (Robert Emmetts), 5 Lee Mackey (Sean Treacys), 6 David Maher (Sean Treacys), 7 Michael Walsh (Robert Emmetts), 8 Colm Quinn, capt (Kilburn Gaels), 9 PJ Rowe (St. Gabriels), 10 Pat Sloane (St. Gabriels), 11 James Egan (Kilburn Gaels), 12 Kevin Walsh (St. Gabriels), 13 Jonathan Maher (Kilburn Gaels), 14 Martin Finn (St. Gabriels), 15 Tony Dunne (Kilburn Gaels).

Wicklow team:
Murphy, Connors, Keogh, Henderson, Chester, Bermingham, Kearns, Keddy, Doyle, O’Gorman, Dunne, Glynn, Bosco, O’Brien 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here