McGrath sees Tipp over the line against Cork

Cork 0-24  Tipperary 1-22

Tipperary have pipped Cork at Páirc Uí Chaoimh in a rip roaring Munster Senior Hurling semi-final.

Visit our Partner site ‘ for the latest Euro 2012 odds, tips and betting

The game was in the melting pot right up until the final whistle, with the champions relieved to get over the line.  The Premier County had to play most of the second half with 14 men as John O’Brien was sent off for a second yellow card offence.

Tipperary led by three points when the Toomevara man was sent off and that proved just about enough for them to hold on for the win.  They even extended the lead to four points with six minutes to play, but tired towards were the end and the final whistle came in the nick of time as the home side fought to get something from the game right until the end.

Cork were crestfallen at the narrow defeat, only their second at home to Tipperary since 1923, but they were carrying a couple of handicaps too many between the overall inexperience of the team and the fact that it was their first championship outing of the summer. O’Brien’s red card had opened an unexpected window of opportunity but Cork were just unable to clamber through it.

Tipperary will now face Waterford in the Munster final on 15th July.

TIPPERARY: Cummins; C O’Brien, Cahill, Curran; Stapleton, C O’Mahony, Pádraic Maher (0-1); B Maher (0-2), S McGrath; G Ryan (0-1), Patrick Maher, Bourke (0-12, seven frees and two 65s); B O’Meara (0-2), J O’Brien, N McGrath (1-4).

Substitutes: L Corbett for Ryan (34 mins), S Bourke for O’Meara (55), J Woodlock for B Maher (57), E Kelly for P Bourke (67), D Maher for Stapleton (70 mins).

Yellow cards: Pádraic Maher (before throw-in), J O’Brien (27 and 48 mins), O’Mahony (46). Red card: O’Brien (48 mins).

CORK: Nash; B Murphy, S O’Neill,  C O’Sullivan;  T Kenny, Cadogan, Egan; Sweetnam (0-1), McLaughlin; Lehane (0-2), Cronin (0-1), Naughton (0-1); J Coughlan (0-3), P Horgan (0-11, nine frees), P O’Sullivan (0-3).

Substitutes: C McCarthy (0-1) for Naughton (47 mins), 21. D Kearney (0-1) for Sweetnam (50 mins), 25. L O’Farrell for Lehane (63 mins).

Yellow cards: Naughton (before throw-in), Cronin (38 mins), B Murphy (43 mins).

Referee: Brian Gavin (Offaly).

Follow hoogenband0110 on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here