Premier much too good for Waterford

Tipperary (2-25) have beaten Waterford (0-12) by 19 points at Semple Stadium to stroll into the Munster Minor Hurling Championship final.

Visit our Partner site ‘ for the latest Euro 2012 odds, tips and betting

Both sides made four changes to their starting lineups with Tipperary boss Willie Maher bringing Barry Heffernan into the side at left half-back, Tadhg Gallagher named at midfield, Steven O’Brien coming in at left half-forward and Sean Ryan drafted in at left corner-forward.  Luke Mullally, Tom Kirwan, Sean Nally and Kevin Slattery were the four players to make way.

Waterford also made four changes in personnel with David O’Brien drafted in at right half-back, Colin Dunford at midfield, Austin Gleeson at centre-forward and Brendan Phelan at full-forward. Cian Leamy, Conor Sheehan, Adam O’Sullivan and Cathal Curran the four players to lose out.

Waterford goalkeeper Seán Barry was man of the match, which says a lot about the game.  The Lismore man made two wonderful saves in each half, otherwise the gap between the two would have been a quarter of a century or more.  Tipperary were much too however and there was only ever going to be one winner of this match from the time that the home side went 1-06 to 0-03 ahead following Seán Ryan’s goal.

TIPPERARY MH: Paul Maher (Moyne-Templetuohy); Ronan Maher (Thurles Sarsfields), Michael Breen (Ballina), Jack Peters (Kilruane McDonaghs); Dylan Fitzelle (Cashel King Cormacs), Thomas Hamill (Killea), Barry Heffernan (Éire Óg Nenagh); Bill Maher (Kilsheelan-Kilcash), Tadhg Gallagher (Kildangan); John McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney), Jack Shelly (Mullinahone), Stephen O’Brien (Ballina); Stephen Cahill (Thurles Sarsfields), Mark McCarthy (Toomevara), Sean Ryan (Sean Treacy’s).

WATERFORD MH: Sean Barry (Lismore); Kieran Bennett (Ballysaggart), Tadgh Bourke (Clashmore/Kinsalebeg), Shane Bennett (Ballysaggart); David O’Brien (Tourin), Shane McNulty (De La Salle), Kieran Power (Kilrossanty); Tom Devine (Modeligo), Colin Dunford (Colligan); DJ Foran (Portlaw), Austin Gleeson (Mount Sion), Michéal Harney (Bunmahon); Stephen Bennett (Ballysaggart), Brendan Phelan (Ballinameela), Darragh Flynn (Erins Own).

Follow hoogenband0110 on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here