Dublin v Laois: Live score commentary updates

We have live score commentary from Dublin v Laois. Croke Park. 7pm in the All Ireland SFC Quarter-Final.

CLICK HERE FOR MINUTE BY MINUTE UPDATES FROM DUBLIN V LAOIS http://livescores.sportsnewsireland.com/

Dublin and Laois meet this weekend in the second quarter-final at Croke Park on Saturday evening. These two teams will be very familiar to each other, but they rarely do battle outside of the Leinster championship.

Pat Gilroy’s men have shown fragmented form all season and they have struggled to rediscover the hunger and drive that was so evident last year.

Winning the All Ireland in 2011 will have taken a lot of pressure off them and as they now enter the business end of the championship it will very interesting to see if they can play with more freedom and attacking flair.

The Brogan Brothers, Alan and Bernard are key in this regard and most of their attacking patterns are centered around these two men. Eoghan O’ Gara has earned a recall and he brings something different to the table with his huge physique and direct style. Midfielder Micheal Dara McGauley and centre back Kevin Nolan will be expected to launch the attacks from the back.

Laois have slipped into the quarter-finals under the radar somewhat and they have built momentum in the qualifiers after losing to Longford in the Leinster championship.

Their performance against Meath last weekend was impressive and they showed much more attacking adventure than in previous rounds.

Kevin Meaney and John O’ Loughlin led the defence with authority. Midfielder Brendan Quigley and their top scorer Ross Munnelly were also to the fore in that tie.

Laois have nothing to lose and in reaching the last eight they have already achieved a great deal. Dublin have ambitions to regain their All Ireland crown and a win this weekend would edge them ever closer to that goal. They should have enough scoring power to see them safely through.

Verdict: Dublin.

Dublin: S Cluxton, M Fitzsimons, R O’Carroll, P McMahon, J McCarthy, K Nolan, C O’Sullivan, E Fennell, D Bastick, P Flynn, A Brogan, B Cullen; B Brogan, M D Macauley, E O’Gara.

Laois: E Culliton, C Healy, K Meaney, P O’Leary; D Strong, J O’ Loughlin, C Boyle, B Quigley, C Begley, R Munnelly, G Walsh, D O’Connor, B Sheehan, P Clancy, C Kelly.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.