Tipperary to play Dublin in minor hurling All-Ireland final

A very impressive Tipperary side qualified for the All Ireland final when they overcame a highly fancied Galway side at Croke park today.

Mattie Murphy’s charges started quickly and they raced into an early lead courtesy of a well taken goal from Jason Flynn. Ronan Dolphin was also prominent and registered two fine points from play.

The young premier men responded well though and registered some fine scores from John McGrath, Stephen Cahill and a great long range point from classy wing back Barry Heffernan.

Tipperary were on top in the middle third but Galway did well to stay in touch and they only trailed by the minimum at the interval on a score line of 1:07 to 1:06.

The second period commenced at a very fast pace and both sides traded early scores but the defining moment arrived seven minutes in when Tipperary corner forward Mark McCarthy unleashed an unstoppable shot to the back of the Galway net.

The tribesmen now trailed by five points and they looked to be in real trouble as their half forward line struggled to make any headway. To their credit they never gave up and two fine points from Cathal Mannion and the impressive Dara Dolan had the margin back to three.

Their hopes of a comeback were dealt a huge blow when full back Paul Kileen was harshly dismissed midway through the half.

In an attempt to fill the void left by Kileen, Mattie Murphy moved Jason Flynn back into defence. It was a case of robbing Peter to pay Paul though and shorn of their main attacking leader the Galway forward unit was outnumbered and outclassed for the remainder of the game.

Tipperary ran out deserving five point winners and on this showing they will be hot favourites to defeat Dublin in the final on the 9th of September.

Scorers for Tipperary: J McGrath 0-7 (3f, 2 ’65), S Cahill 1-2, M McCarthy 1-1, J Shelly 0-2, S Maher 0-2, B Heffernan 0-1, T Fox 0-1
Scorers for Galway: J Flynn 1-1, B Molloy 0-4 (3f), D Dolan 0-4, R O’Meara 0-3, C Mannion 0-1, A Higgins 0-1
Tipperary: P Maher; R Maher, M Breen, J Peters; T Fox, T Hamill, B Heffernan; B Maher, J McGrath; T Gallagher, J Shelly, S O’Brien; S Cahill, K Slattery, M McCarthy.
Subs: S Ryan for K Slattery (HT), S Maher for S O’Brien (43), C Lanigan for J Shelly (59).
Galway: M Ó Conghaile; D O’Donoghue, P Killeen, É Burke; S Caulfield, S Sweeney, B Keane; S Collins, C Mannion; B Murtagh, D Dolan, J Flynn; R O’Meara, M Mullins, B Molloy.
Subs: A Morrissey for B Murtagh (HT), P English for S Collins (40), O Treacy for M Mullins (48), S Linnane for A Morrissey (57), A Higgins for B Molloy (59).

More to follow

Live commentary
2:47pm Its all over, Tipperary will go into the All-Ireland final against Dublin as raging hots favourites.
2:43pm Aidan Higgins gets a point for Galway. we have three minutes injury time.
2:40pm Jack Shelly puts Tipperary six points ahead.
2:37pm Its another point from John McGrath for Tipperary
2:33pm John McGrath gives Tipperary a five point lead.
2:33pm Jack McGrath hits over an easy free for Tipperary.
2:32pm Brian Molloy gets Galway back to within three points with 10min play.
2:30pm Sean Maher puts Tipperary four point ahead.
2:30pm Disaster for Galway as Paul Killeen gets sent off, the full back with be a huge loss.
2:26pm Tom Fox hits the point of the day from the half way line.
2:25pm Darragh Dolan with his fourth point of the day for Galway.
2:22pm Cathal Mannion with another point for Galway, they now trail by three points.
2:22pm Jason Flynn with a point from wide on the right for Galway.
2:20pm Fabulous GOAL for Tipperary by Mark McCathy, Jack Shelly also adds a point.
2:20pm John McGrath hits over an easy free for the premier county.
2:18pm Brain Molloy is fouled and he hits over the free to level it up.
2:16pm Stephen Cahill with a nice point from play for Tipperary.
2:15pm Lovely point to opening the second half scoring by Darragh Dolan.
1:59pm Jack McGrath has put Tipperary in front as we approach half time.
1:54pm Darragh Dolan gives Galway the lead. Its followed by an amazing save by the Galway keeper.
1:53pm Stephen O’Brien has a great chance for Tipperary but its hit wide.
1:51pm Ronan O’Meara hits his second point of the day, its all level.
1:50pm Brian Malloy with an easy free for Galway.
1:49pm John McGrath restores the Tipperary lead back to two.
1:48pm Ronan O’Meara with his first score of the day for Galway.
1:41pm Darragh Dolan get a much needed point for Galway.
1:40pm Stunning point from John McGrath for Tipperary.
1:38pm Barry Heffernan with Tipperary’s second point, Stephen Cahill get a GOAL for Tipperary.
1:34pm Stephen Cahill with a point for Tipperary.
1:32pm Jason Flynn with a GOAL for Galway.
1:30pm Brain Malloy opens the scoring for Galway
12:50pm Only forty minutes until the throw in for one of the most anticipated minor hurling matches in years.

CLAIM 25e/£ FREE BET JUST CLICK HERE TO PLACE A BET: Manchester City 6/5, Manchester United 5/2, Chelsea  5/1, Arsenal 12/1 & Liverpool 16/1 with William Hill to win the English Premier League 2012/2013

William Hill Sports


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.