World Men’s Curling Championship 2011

Following upon Sunday’s exciting finals day in the Women’s Curling events in Esbjerg, next it is the turn of the men.

The Ford World Men’s Curling Championship, presented by Richardson, starts this Saturday (2 April) in the Brandt Centre at Evraz Place in Regina, the capital of Saskatchewan in Canada. Altogether twelve countries will contest the Championship which runs to Sunday 10th April.

Hosts and reigning world champion nation, Canada, will be represented by Jeff Stoughton and his team from the neighbouring province of Manitoba. Stoughton won the title in 1996 in Hamilton, Ontario.

The other countries competing are: China, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Korea, Norway, Scotland, Sweden, Switzerland and USA.

Among the well-known teams are Olympic silver medallists and current European champions Thomas Ulsrud and his team with their fancy curling pants from Norway. The team (minus Ulsrud who had to return home for family reasons) took silver at the Capital One World Men’s Championship in Cortina d’Ampezzo, Italy, last year with Torger Nergård stepping up to skip.

Former European and world junior champion Niklas Edin will skip the team from Sweden and the team from USA will be led by Pete Fenson, bronze medallist at the 2006 Olympic Winter Games in Torino (Pinerolo), Italy. Fenson finished fourth at last year’s event in Italy.

Andy Kapp is making his thirteenth World Championship appearance as skip of the German team while Tom Brewster makes his first appearance skipping the Scottish men’s team.

World championship veteran Tommy Stjerne of Hvidovre, leads the team from Denmark. Stjerne beat his son Rasmus in the Danish national men’s final and has appointed Rasmus, who skipped Denmark to silver at the 2010 Le Gruyère European Championships, as team coach for this event.

Thomas Dufour of Chamonix is skip of the team representing France and Christof Schwaller of St. Moritz, and his team that took bronze at the European Championships in December represent Switzerland. Completing the field are the Czech Republic’s Jiri Snitil of Brno, along with the winner and runner-up at the 2010 Pacific Championships, China’s Luan Chen of Harbin and Korea’s Dong Keun Lee of Chuncheon City, respectively.

2011 marks the 17th year of title sponsorship of a world curling championship by Ford of Canada, and the seventh consecutive year that the men’s and women’s championships have been conducted separately, after being combined from 1989-2004.

It is also the 53rd edition of the world men’s curling championship, which was contested as the Scotch Cup for the first time in 1959 in Scotland and featured a team from Canada (skip Ernie Richardson of Regina) against one from Scotland (skip Willie Young) in a five-game series. Richardson is the only four-time winner of the world men’s as skip.

Round-robin play begins on Saturday 2nd April and continues through seventeen sessions until Thursday 7th April. Tie-breakers will follow, if required. Page Play-offs take place on Friday 8th and Saturday 9th. The first and second place teams at the end of the round robin will meet in one game, with the winner advancing directly to the gold medal final on Sunday 10th while the loser goes to Saturday’s semi-final. The third and fourth place round robin teams also meet, with the winner advancing to the semi-final. The loser of this game goes to Sunday’s bronze medal game to face the semi-final loser.


Fourth Jeff Stoughton (Skip)
Third Jon Mead
Second Reid Carruthers
Lead Steve Gould
Alternate Garth Smith
Team Coach Norman Gould

Fourth Luan Chen (Skip)
Third Guangxu Li
Second Yansong Ji
Lead Wenli Guo
Alternate Dexin Ba
Team Coach Hongchen Li

Fourth Jiri Snítil (Skip)
Third Martin Snítil
Second Jindrich Kitzberger
Lead Marek Vydra
Alternate Jakub Bareš
Team Coach Ellery Robichaud

Fourth Tommy Stjerne (Skip)
Third Per Berg
Second Peter Andersen
Lead Anders Søderblom
Alternate Jan Elgaard Nebelong
Team Coach Rasmus Stjerne

Fourth Tony Angiboust
Third Thomas Dufour (Skip)
Second Lionel Roux
Lead Wilfrid Coulot
Alternate/Coach Jan Henri Ducroz

Fourth Andreas Kapp (Skip)
Third Daniel Herberg
Second Andreas Lang
Lead Markus Messenzehl
Alternate Holger Höhne
Team Coach Martin Beiser

Fourth Dong Keun Lee (Skip)
Third Soo Hyuk Kim
Second Tae Hwan Kim
Lead Yoon Ho Nam
Alternate Ye Jun Lee
Team Coach Doo Sung Lee

Fourth Thomas Ulsrud (Skip)
Third Torger Nergård
Second Christoffer Svae
Lead Håvard Vad Petersson
Alternate Markus Snøve Høiberg
Team Coach Ole Ingvaldsen

Fourth Tom Brewster (Skip)
Third Greg Drummond
Second Scott Andrews
Lead Michael Goodfellow
Alternate Duncan Fernie
Team Coach Ronald Brewster

Fourth Niklas Edin (Skip)
Third Sebastian Kraupp
Second Fredrik Lindberg
Lead Viktor Kjäll
Alternate Oskar Eriksson
Team Coach Peja Lindholm

Fourth Christof Schwaller (Skip)
Third Marco Ramstein
Second Robert Hürlimann
Lead Urs Eichhorn
Alternate Sven Michel
Team Coach Christoph Zysset

Fourth Pete Fenson (Skip)
Third Shawn Rojeski
Second Joe Polo
Lead Ryan Brunt
Alternate Scott Baird
Team Coach Ed Lukowich


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.