Leinster team to play Leicester 6pm Saturday

Leinster head coach JOE SCHMIDT has named his team to play the Leicester Tigers in the Avaiva on Saturday Kick off 6pm.

Leinster v Leicester live score commentary

Sean O’Brien will make his 50th Leinster appearance in Saturday’s game and he continues in the back-row alongside Jamie Heaslip and Kevin McLaughlin.

Leo Cullen leads the team and partners Nathan Hines at second row, with Cian Healy, Richardt Strauss and Mike Ross completing the pack.

Gordon D’Arcy again links up with Brian O’Driscoll in a backline which features, in all, six Ireland internationals including the competition’s top points scorer so far this season Jonathan Sexton (76 points) who partners Eoin Reddan at half back.

Ireland international trio Isaac Boss, Fergus McFadden and Devin Toner are named amongst the replacements.

Supporters are reminded that Saturday’s game is a sell out and to use Public transport as there will be delays around the ground. Gates open at 4.30pm. The ‘Blue Magic Facepainters’ will be around the ground, while there also will be great supporter giveaways in the Aviva Stadium. ‘The Key Notes’ will be performing prior to kick off to get supporters in the mood with some specially selected Leinster songs, while Ardee RFC will face Roscrea RFC in the half time Mini rugby exhibition.

In addition 35 clubs and schools have availed of reduced price tickets as part of the ‘One Province’ initiative. They are: Arklow, Ashbourne, Balbriggan, Belvedere College SJ, Birr, Boyne, Cill Dara, Clondalkin, Clontarf, Coláiste Bhríde Carnew, Coláiste Choilm CBS, Gorey, Kilkenny, Knocklyon Community School, Liberty Saints, Longford, Monkstown, Mullingar, Naas, Navan, North Kildare, North Meath, NUIM Barnhall, Old Belvedere, Old Wesley, Portlaoise, St Mary’s College, Suttonians, Swords, Skerries, Terenure College, Tullow, West Offaly Lions, Wexford Wanderers and Wicklow.


15: Isa Nacewa
14: Shane Horgan
13: Brian O’Driscoll
12: Gordon D’Arcy
11: Luke Fitzgerald
10: Jonathan Sexton
9: Eoin Reddan

1: Cian Healy
2: Richardt Strauss
3: Mike Ross
4: Leo Cullen CAPTAIN
5: Nathan Hines
6: Kevin McLaughlin
7: Sean O’Brien
8: Jamie Heaslip


16: Jason Harris-Wright
17: Heinke van der Merwe
18: Stan Wright
19: Devin Toner
20: Dominic Ryan
21: Isaac Boss
22: Ian Madigan
23: Fergus McFadden

REFEREE: Nigel Owens (WRU), ASSISTANT REFEREES: James Jones, Jon Mason (both WRU), 4th OFFICIAL: Colin Kirkhouse (WRU), 5th OFFICIAL: Neil Ballard (WRU), TMO: Derek Bevan (WRU)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.