Vettel win’s in Malaysia

Sebastian Vettel continued his fine start to the new Formula one season with victory in the second race of the season in Malaysia. The German, who started on the grid in pole, ran a measured race on the dry Sepang track to claim his 12th career win and extend his lead at the top to 24 points.

Jensen Button was second for McLaren with Renault’s Nick Heidfeld in third place; Vettel’s Red Bull colleague Mark Webber was fourth.

The Ferrari’s of Felipe Massa and Fernando Alonso were fifth and sixth with Lewis Hamilton coming home in 7th after suffering tyre problems. Scot Paul Di Resta was the third Briton to make the top ten as he collected a point for Force India.

Vettel’s victory today was all the more impressive as he was without KERS on his Red Bull car for most of the race, a similar fate that bestowed Mark Weber who at one stage had fallen back to 9th.

With just two races gone Vettel looks to be in control of this year championship’s having amassed 50 points already, with Jensen Button his closest challenger The top four is dominated by Red Bull and McClaren

1. Vettel Red Bull-Renault 1h37:39.832
2. Button McLaren-Mercedes + 3.261
3. Heidfeld Renault + 25.075
4. Webber Red Bull-Renault + 26.384
5. Massa Ferrari + 36.958
6. Alonso Ferrari + 37.248
7. Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes + 49.957
8. Kobayashi Sauber-Ferrari + 1:07.239
9. Schumacher Mercedes + 1:24.896
10. Di Resta Force India-Mercedes + 1:31.563

Drivers Standings:

Driver                                     Team                                      Points
Vettel                                      Red Bull                                 50
Button                                     McLaren                                26
Hamilton                               McLaren                                24
Webber                                   Red Bull                                 22
Alonso                                     Ferrari                                   20                   
Massa                                       Ferrari                                   16
Heidfeld                                  Renault                                 15
Petrov                                      Renault                                 15
Buemi                                      Toro Rosso                             4
Kobayashi                              Sauber                                    4


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here