Zellick – Galmaarden next up for An Post

Last race before mini break for Sean Kelly outfit

The An Post team have named a 7 man team to ride in the Zellick – Galmaarden (1.2) in Belgium this Sunday (17th April). Ronan McLauglin is the solitary Irish rider in the line up, he is joined by Andy Fenn, Mark McNally, Kess Heytens, Dries Hollanders, Kevin Claeys and Kenny Terweduwe.

The team have been performing consistently of late, without getting the top ten finishes which team manager Kurt Bogaerts feels they deserve.

“Last Wednesday (at the GP Denain) we had five riders who were involved in the bunch sprint at the finish and although Andy Fenn was 22nd, he definitely had a good chance to make the top ten.”

“This Sunday’s we have a great opportunity to win the race. It’s a tough hilly race with lots of climbs and it’s the last race before we take an 8 day break, so I expect a good performance from the team” Bogaerts added.

Bogearts also explained why regular team leader Niko Eeckhout isn’t in the line up this weekend.

“Niko has been in the team for almost every race this season, so I wanted to give him a rest. He looked a little tired during the week, so now is a good time for him to take a break. I want him in peak condition next month for either the Rás or the Tour of Belgium.”

Team for Zellick – Galmaarden (1.2) Belgium

Ronan McLauglin (IRL)
Mark McNally (UK)
Andy Fenn (UK)
Kess Heytens (BEL)
Dries Hollanders (BEL)
Kenny Terweduwe (BEL)
Kevin Cleays (BEL)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here