Wicklow seal successive promotions

It was two in a row for both sides in this division 3A final. For Wicklow, it is their second successive promotion thanks to a 2-20 to 3-14 win over Derry in Longford.

For the Oak leaf county it is the second divisional final they have lost in as many years. But they started the better of the sides, racing into an early lead and held a 2-8 to 1-6 advantage at the break.

However, the second half belonged to the Leinster side as they shocked Derry by hitting 1-5 without reply in the seven minutes after the restart.

The Ulster men did force their way back in front through an own goal by Willy Collins but Wicklow would not be denied their day in the sun.

Derry finished top of the table and they looked set to continue their dominance at this level. Wexford’s chief tormentor at this stage was Ruairi Convery. The forward opened the games goal-scoring inside 10 minutes with a 21-meter howitzer from a dead ball.

Oisin Doherty got the green flag waving a second time for derry. But at the other end, Andy O’Brien dragged his side back into contention. O’Brien rose highest to meet a long ball into the square and he deftly flicked past the crowd and into the net.

Emerging back onto the field six points down, Wicklow took little time to redress the situation. Points arrived from Enan Glynn, Don Hyland and half-time substitute Leighton Glynn before O’Brien grabbed his second goal of the game to level matters.

With eight minutes to go Michael Kirkpatrick fired Derry back into the lead via a large deflection off Collins.

But Wicklow never looked overly perturbed in the late period and long range points from Leighton Glynn and the excellent Jonathan O’Neill sealed the second hurling promotion in two years for Wicklow, moving them swiftly from division 3B to the second tier.

Wicklow: W O’Gorman; J Connors, G Keogh, W Collins; G Bermingham (0-1) L Kennedy, B Cuddihy; E Kearns, S Kelly; R Keddy (0-1) J O’Neill (0-8, 5 frees, 1 ‘65’) T Doyle; E Glynn (0-5) D Hyland, A O’Brien (2-2) Subs: L Glynn (0-2) for T Doyle (h-t).

Derry: D McDermott; A Rafferty, M Graig, L Hawkins; D McCloskey, K Hinphey, S Cassidy; P Kelly, O McCloskey; A Grant (0-1) R Convery (1-9, 1-8 frees) P Henry (0-2) O Doherty (1-1) P McCloskey, C McKeever (0-1) Subs: M Kirkpatrick for P Kelly (38) R McCloskey for A Rafferty (65).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.