Naill Smyth leads Irish poker open

Clare born Naill Smyth is the chip leader going into the final day of the Paddypower Irish poker open with a first place prize of €550,000.

1st. (€550,000)
2nd. (€290,000)
3rd. (€180,000)
4th. (€145,000)
5th. (€115,000)
6th. (€85,000)
7th. Rob Taylor (€63,000)
8th. John Eames (€45,000)
9th. Niall McCann (€30,000)
10th. Andy Black (€19,400)
11th. Jude Ainsworth (€19,400)
12th. Lorna Lancaster (€19,400)
13th. Derek Thorpe (€15,100)
14th. Vincent Burke (€15,100)
15th. Olaf Martensen (€15,100)
16th. Myles Kenny (€15,100)
17th. Phillip Peters (€11,700)
18th. Jonathan Spinks (€11,700)
19th. Marty Smyth (€11,700)
20th. Lee Bennett (€11,700)
21st. Oskar Ojaveer (€11,700)
22nd. JP Kelly (€11,700)
23rd. Julian Herold (€11,700)
24th. John Gillespie (€11,700)
25th. Mick McCloskey (€9,400)
26th. John Weafer (€9,400)
27th. Lukasz Wiercinski (€9,400)
28th. Stuart Fox (€9,400)
29th. Beng Hong Ker (€9,400)
30th. Edward John O’Beirne (€9,400)
31st. Paul Mulvihill (€9,400)
32nd. Noel Furlong (€9,400)
33rd. Michael Tureniec (€7,500)
34th. Padraic Naughton (€7,500)
35th. Henone Hael (€7,500)
36th. Nicky Power (€7,500)
37th. Barry Donovan (€7,500)
38th. Michael Muldoon (€7,500)
39th. Philipp Salewski (€7,500)
40th. Misztela Przemyslaw (€7,500)
41st. William Haughey (€5,900)
42nd. Robert Willis (€5,900)
43rd. Michael Dwyer (€5,900)
44th. Mark Spelman (€5,900)
45th. Paul Febers (€5,900)
46th. Mark Sinclair (€5,900)
47th. Roger Johansson (€5,900)
48th. Denise Fusciardi (€5,900)
49th. Sampo Ryyanen (€4,700)
50th. Michael Jordan (€4,700)
51st. Umar Khan (€4,700)
52nd. Russell Carson (€4,700)
53rd. Jude Duffy (€4,700)
54th. Thomas Nolan (€4,700)
55th. Paul Petrus Berende (€4,700)
56th. Edmund Sweeney (€4,700)
57th. Gavin Flynn (€4,100)
58th. Tom Ahlberg (€4,100)
59th. Phil Baker (€4,100)
60th. Guillermo Fernandez (€4,100)
61st. Mikael Johansson (€4,100)
62nd. David Birtles (€4,100)
63rd. Jason Tompkins (€4,100)
64th. Bernard Stoddard (€4,100)
65th. Oliver Lynch (buyin for 2012 Irish Open)

Niall narrowly missed making a final table in this event 2 years ago and finished in 11th is now well poised to take a shot at taking down the title of Irish Open Champion 2011.

John Eames is hot on the heels of Niall and himself has had some impressive tournament results and I highly say he would like to add this event to his list, Aleksi Savela was actually one of the first people that I bumped into at this event and would be nice to think he could be one of the last people, Martin Petri also has an impressive stack, we have late night poker veteran and WPT winner Surinder Sunar also in the running, Karl Rudwall a Scandinavian player and we all know their rep, Seamus Cahill a known face around Dublin and one of the top PLO players around had himself a swingy day so hopefully all of his suck-outs he received are finished for now, Robert Taylor who has over 200k in tournament cashes is a sole survivor looking to stake a claim on this event, Niall McCann is our short stack tomorrow returning to play tomorrow and looks like he might need to get busy.

Another big factor that is gonna effect the play tomorrow is that we have 4 sole survivors remaining out of the 9 and still battling within the tournament to scoop the €100k package should make for a great dynamic.

We also had a number of events running in tandem with the Main Event we had a €750 Omaha event that was won by Casey Kastle we also have €1000 side event that has finished up for the night and they will be returning back tomorrow, a ladies event plus a €200 turbo event so its all go in The Burlington Hotel for all the poker players.

Players have now locked up a minmium prize of €3ok and a potential to earn a whole lot more when play resumes tomorrow at 2pm blinds will be 15000/30000/3000

Myself Darragh & Adam and everybody here at Paddy Power hope you have enjoyed all the coverage be it via the blog or the live stream Twitter or Facebook please join us again tomorrow for all the action brought to you by Rebecca McAdam Emmet Kennedy and Jesse May and manybe one or two guest commentators along the way as I’m sure its gonna be an absolute belter of day when we get to crown the PaddyPowerPoker Irish Open Champion 2011 for Europe’s longest running poker tournament.

We lost some well known faces and previous winners along the way in the shape of Marty Smyth finished 19th who tried to battle his best back to the final table since he took down the event back in 2007 and Noel Furlong 32nd as well who won it twice couldn’t repeat this a third time, we had WSOP bracelet winners fall along the way also add into the mix of that EPT winners, two of the top players from Ireland just managed to miss out on the final table in the form of the Jude Ainsworth in 11th and Andy Black in 10th


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here