Waterford beat Tipperary in Munster MHC

Waterford will meet Limerick in the semi final of ESB Munster MHC after they beat Tipperary at Walsh Park last night. 10 points from Jake Dillon was the catalyst as Waterford shocked the premier county to run out 2-16 to 13 points winners

A large crowd of 3,000 were treated to a grandstand finish as firstly Jason Forde looked to have bought Tipperary back into the game however an injury time goal from Michael Harney sealed the win.

Tipperary will rue a number of missed wides in the first half as Waterford took control and went in 5 points ahead thanks in no part to a late goal from Cein Chester.

The home side extended their lead early in the second half with efforts from Adam O’Sullivan and Dillon however the decision to move Jason Forde nearly paid off when he scored with a 20-metre free to the net however Waterford held on with the final say coming from Harney.

SCORERS – Waterford: J Dillon 0-10 (0-8f, 0-1 ’65’), C Chester 1-2, M Harney 1-0, A O’Sullivan 0-3, S Bennett 0-1. Tipperary: L McGrath 0-8 (0-7f), J Forde 1-1 (1-0f), D McCormack 0-2, S Maher, C Horan 0-1 each.

WATERFORD – P Cooke; J Barron, D Ahern, C Walsh; S O’Neill, D Foley, J Power; R Barry, S Roche; D Flynn, J Dillon, A O’Sullivan; S Bennett, C Kervick, C Chester. Subs: S McNulty for S Roche, M Harney for C Kervick, C Heffernan for A O’-Sullivan.

TIPPERARY – J Maher; J Bourke, J Meagher, J Peters; C Barrett, J Forde, T Hamill; C Hammersley, E Fennelly; S Maher, P Ralph, T Kirwan; L McGrath, D McCormack, C Horan. Subs: B Heffernan for P Ralph, B Maher for C Hammersley, P Ryan for C Horan.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here