Connacht Junior football championship: Mayo beat Leitrim

Mayo are through to the next round of the Connacht Junior football championship following a hard fought 1-14 to 0-15 point win over Leitrim in Aghamore tonight.

Leitrim went in at half time with a four point lead, however a determined Mayo side outscored their neighbours 1-7 to 4 in the second half. Man of the match Colin Dempsey’s goal ultimately deciding a cleanly fought contest, Dempsey ended the tie with a 1-7 personal haul.

The win set’s up a semi final date with Roscommon on the 6th May.


1) Conor Campbell Swinford
2) Tom Staunton Tourmakeady
3) Ollie Feeney Islandeady
4) Conor Cawley Ardnaree
5) Denis McNamara Achill
6) Colm Cafferkey Achill
7) Dermot Costello Hollymount-Carramore
8) Peter Collins Islandeady
9) Michael Forde Ballycastle
10) Alan Egan Bonniconlon
11) James McAndrew Killcommon
12) Simon Cloherty Parke
13) Jack McDonnell Swinford
14) Colin Dempsey Swinford
15) Michael Conroy Davitts


1. Philip Farrelly, (Ballinamore Sean O’Heslin’s)
2. Gavin Reynolds, (Cloone)
3. Mark Beirne, (Eslin)
4. Paddy Maguire, (Glencar/Manorhamilton)
5. Paul Brennan, (Melvin Gaels)
6. Barry McWeeney, (Aughnasheelin)
7. Conor Sheridan, (Melvin Gaels)
8. Daniel Lowe, (St Mary’s)
9. Robert Lowe, (St Mary’s)
10. Fergal Clancy, (Glenfarne/Kiltyclogher)
11. Colm Maguire, (Aughavas)
12. Paddy McGowan, (Dromahair)
13. Conor Beirne, (Eslin)
14. Adrian Croal, (Glencar/Manorhamilton)
15. Conor Kelly, (Dromahair)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.