Waterford beat Cork in hurling challenge

Waterford defeated Cork in a senior hurling challenge match at Clashmore on Monday evening. Despite the rebels getting off to a great start,it was the Deise who finished the stronger to take the game.

GAA president Christy Cooney and former president Sean Kelly were amongst those in attendance at the opening of the new clubhouse, and the large turn out were not disappointed as the two counties served up a cracking contest.

Michael Cussen scored a Cork goal with just 40 seconds on the clock. The corner forward started as he meant to go on and was the best of the rebels attack all evening. Cork led by five points after 20 minutes, but then Seamus Prendergast hit the first of Waterford’s three goals to bring them back into contention.

Conor Lehane and Pa Cronin replied for Cork and they led by four points at halftime 1-11 to 1-7. The two teams made a number of changes at the interval, and the introduction of Michael ‘Brick’ Walsh, Maurice Shanahan and Kevin Moran saw the Deise improve considerably after the restart.

Shane Walsh pointed midway through the half to level the match and the home side led for the first time, when Brian O’Sullivan scored a goal in the 64th minute. Shane Fives added two further points , Eamonn Murphy pointed and a Gavin Crotty goal wrapped up the win for the home county.

Scorers: Waterford: B O’Sullivan 1-3 (0-2 f), S Prendergast 1-1, S Power 0-4 (4f), G Crotty 1-0, S Fives 0-3, M Shanahan 0-3 (1f), T Ryan, S Walsh, E Murphy 0-1 each.

Cork: M Cussen 1-3, P Horgan 0-3 (3f), C Lehane 0-2, T Kenny, P Cronin, K Murphy, C McCarthy (1f), C Naughton, W Egan, B Cooper 0-1 each.

Waterford: A Power; A Kearney, L Lawlor, J Maher; D O’Sullivan, P Mahony, D Prendergast; E McGrath, G Crotty; E Murphy, S Fives, S Power; T Ryan, S Prendergast, B O’Sullivan.

Subs: M Walsh for Mahony; M Shanahan for S Power; K Moran for Murphy (all half-time); Murphy for Shanahan 52; S Walsh for D O’Sullivan 53.

Cork: M Coleman; S McDonnell, E Dillon, C O’Sullivan; J Nagle, R Curran, W Egan; P Cronin, T Kenny; C Lehane, C McCarthy, C Naughton; L O’Farrell, K Murphy, M Cussen.

Subs: B Cooper for McCarthy 17, P Horgan for O’Farrell 32, D Óg Cusack for Coleman, J O’Callaghan for McDonnell, B Murphy for Curran, B Corry for Lehane (all half-time).

Referee: Johnny Ryan, Tipperary.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here