Nacewa named players player of the year

Leinster star Isa Nacewa has become the first overseas player to be win the Bord Gáis Energy IRUPA Players’ Player of the Year at the ninth Bord Gáis Energy IRUPA Rugby Awards.

The Auckland born 28 year old has had an impressive campaign and has been one of the stars of Leinster march to the Heineken cup final and semi finals of the Magners league.

Connacht’s Fionn Carr, who has just signed for Leinster, also picked up an award when he was won the IRUPA Volkswagen Try of the Year for his 70 yard effort away to the Scarlets.

Ulster’s Nevin Spence was named as the IRUPA Nature Valley Young Player of the Year while Richardt Strauss collected the IRUPA Nokia Unsung Hero Award.

Another third Leinster player was awarded when Sean O’Brien received the Bord Gáis Energy IRUPA Supporters’ Player of the Year, voted for by listeners of Newstalk106-108 fm

Despite their dominance in the Magner’s league Munster’s players missed out on receiving any awards


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.