IRFU Club Sevens Series Review

The IRFU Club Sevens Championship which took place in Belfast and Cork on Saturday afternoon saw Queen’s University and UL Bohemians crowned champions in the Ulster and Munster Club Sevens.

In the Ulster section it was Queens who defeated recently crowned Ulster Bank League Division 3 winners City of Derry by 31-19 at Deramore Park. The students made history as they became the first side ever to win the Ulster Club Sevens Championship.

In the other game that took place in Belfast it was Ballynahinch, who won the Division 2 title, who won the plate match where they overcame a determined Instonians outfit.

Down in Cork it was an all Limerick affair as UL Bohemians captured the title as they defeated neighbours Garryowen by 29-7. In the plate match it was Clonakilty who got the job done against a good Thomand side by a score-line of 24-10.

All four teams that competed in the final matches will meet once again in the All Ireland Clubs Sevens finals which are scheduled to take place on Saturday May 21st at St Mary’s College RFC.

They will meet teams from Leinster and Connacht who will play their provincial sevens championship’s this coming weekend. The Leinster series will take place in Terenure College while the Connacht series will take place in Galway Corinthians.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.