Ireland A beat Munster Development side

Ireland’s Under 20 side warmed up for their upcoming appearance at the IRB Junior World Cup Championships with a late 21-17 win over a Munster development side.

Three second half tries sealed the win as the Irish management team took the opportunity to field a squad of 27 players in various combinations.

Ireland went in at half time 12-3 down as Declan Cusack and Craig O’Hanlon scored a try apiece for Munster however that lead was extinguished just after half time when replacement number 10 Paddy Jackson intercepted a Munster ball inside his own 22 to run the length of the pitch and score the visitors first try.

Munster continued to press on and scored a third try through Ian Nagle with just 10 minutes remaining.

However two tries in the final minutes saw Ireland home wingers Andrew Boyle and Mick McGrath both scored.

Munster Development: L O’Dea (Shannon), C O’Hanlon (Young Munster), C Bohane (Dolphin), L Kuntz (Garryowen), C Quinn (Cork Constitution), D Cusack (Garryowen), B Slater (UCC), J Cronin (Highfield), N Scannell (Dolphin), J Ryan (UCC), I Nagle (Cork Constitution), B Hayes (Cork Constitution), P O’Mahony (Cork Constitution), B O’Hara (UL Bohemians), P Butler (Shannon). Replacements: J Holland for Kuntz (32, injured), M Dolan (Irl U20) for Slater (35), D Casey (Shannon) for Scannell (37), Hircock for Quinn (48), P O’Regan (UL Bohemian) for Ryan (50), J Quill (Dolphin) for O’Hara (54).

Ireland U20s (First half): T O’Halloran (Galwegians/Connacht), A Boyle (UCD/Leinster), C Hircock (Garryowen/Munster), JJ Hanrahan (UL Bohemian/Munster), C O’Shea (Clontarf/Leinster), J McKinney (Queens/Ulster), K Marmion (UWIC/Exiles), F Belham (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster), D Doyle (UCC/Leinster), T Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster), D Qualter (Buccaneers/Connacht), C O’Flaherty (Cork Con/Munster), S Buckley (Garryowen/Munster), J Murphy (Lansdowne/Leinster), A Conneely (Corinthians/Connacht). Replacements: L Marshall (Ballymena/Ulster) for O’Halloran, N Annett (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster) for Doyle (both28), C Carey (Ballymena/Ulster) for Furlong (38)

Ireland U20s (Second half): L Marshall (Ballymena/Ulster), M McGrath (Clontarf/Leinster), B Macken (Blackrock/Leinster), N McDonald (Exiles), A Boyle (UCD/Leinster), P Jackson (Dungannon/Ulster), P Du Toit (UCD/Leinster), A Warwick (Ballymena/Ulster), N Annett (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster), C Carey (Ballymena/Ulster), M Kearney (Clontarf/Leinster), I Henderson (Queens/Ulster), S Buckley (Garryowen/Munster), J Murphy (Lansdowne/Leinster), C O’Flaherty (Cork Constitution/Munster). Replacements: D Doyle (UCD/Leinster) for Henderson (48)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here