Cork beat Clare to reach Munster minor final

Click for live score updates

Full time score: Clare 0-6 Cork 1-16

Just as they did in the opening round Cork beat Clare running home 13 points victors to set up a Munster minor final tie with Tipperary. Cork were never in trouble despite Clare having the home advantage.

Defending Champion’s Cork travel to face Clare in Cusack Park this Wednesday night in the Munster Minor Football Championship Semi-Final (kick off 7.00pm) with a place in the final against Tipperary or Kerry at stake.

The two sides have already met in this year’s competition with Cork coming out on top that day by two points in a tightly fought 2-10 to 0-11 win.

That defeat to Cork forced the Banner county in the play off’s where they were ruthless in their 4-14 to 1-9 defeat of Waterford thanks to 2-2 from Niall Hickey and 1-3 from Conor Cleary before sealing their rematch against the rebel county with a narrow three point win over neighbours Limerick, Adrian Murrihy goal ultimately proving the difference between the two sides that day.

Fitness could prove a problem for Cork who haven’t played since their win over Clare on April 14th but in Dan MacEoin, Stephen O’Mahoney and Cian O’Sullivan they have a player who can cause problems, MacEoin scored 1-4 in the first encounter between these two sides.

Cork have the recent form and edge over Clare having already beaten them this year as well as knocking them out of last year’s championship, in fact you have to go back as far as 2005 to find the last time that a Clare team beat Cork at this level.

Clare, who claimed their last minor championship back in 1953, will need strong support from the home crowd and another strong game from Hickey, the Championship’s top scorer with 2-12, if they are to seal a place in the final

Clare minor football team: Darren Sexton, Conor Gavin (Captain), Craig O’Brien, Oisin Vaughan, Jarlath Colleran, Stan Lineen, Darragh Bolton, Alan O’Neill, Darragh McDonagh, Eoin Cleary, Conor Cleary, Adrian Murrihy, Martin O’Leary, Niall Hickey, Jamie Malone.

Subs: Liam Corbett, Jack Scanlon, Ciaran Devitt, James Sweeney, Joey Rouine, Cathal McConigley , William Flynn, Allyn Dalton, Eoghan Donnellan, Cillian McNamara, Conor McNelis.

Cork minor football team: James Mc Donnell, Jamie Davis, Conor Dorman, Kevin Hayes Curtin, Kevin Crowley, Kevin Fulignati, Killian O Hanlon, Sean Kiely, Mark Sugrue, Brian O Driscoll, Alan Cadogan, David Harrington, Dan MacEoin, Stephen O’Mahony, Cian O Sullivan.

Subs: Patrick Rossiter, Luke Prendergast, Kevin Kavanagh, Killian McIntyre, Darragh Murphy, John Corkery, Paul Fitzgerald, Andy O Connell, Sean Ryan.

Extra time will be played.
Admission prices: Adult – €10, Student/OAP with appropriate ID Card – €5, Under 16s are free.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here