Irish Women’s Senior Squad For Celtic Cup

Ireland’s women’s hockey team visit Largs in Ayrshire for this year’s Celtic Cup competition which features games against Wales and Scotland on 4th and 5th June followed by an additional game versus their Scottish hosts on 6th.

Since the 2010 season , the country has ‘lost’ two of its most experienced stars, following the retirements of Eimear Cregan and captain Bridget Cleland, a huge loss indeed – for this tournament they will also be without the Loreto trio, Niamh Small, Nikki Symonds and Nikki Daly since Loreto HC take part in the European Club Champions Challenge 11 in Lille from 10-13 June.

The squad for the Celtic Cup from 3 – 6 June 2011, in Largs, Scotland

1.Hannah Bowe (Slough)
2.Emma Clarke (Leicester)
3.Lizzie Colvin (HGC)
4.Aine Connery (Hermes)
5.Miriam Crowley (UCC)
6.Emma Gray (Hermes)
7.Michelle Harvey (Pegasus)
8.Lisa Jacob (Hermes)
9.Sinead McCarthy (Hermes)
10.Shirley McCay (Old Alex)
11.Jean McDonnell (Railway Union)
12.Audrey O’Flynn (Hermes)
13.Julia O’Halloran (Railway Union)
14.Cliodhna Sargent (Cork Harlequins)
15.Pamela Smithwick (Old Alex)
16.Emma Smyth (Railway Union)
17.Alex Speers (Cpt – Railway Union)
18.Chloe Watkins (UCD)

Gene Muller, Womens National Coach, speaks of the timing of the Celtic Cup ” We have not played against Wales in two years and Scotland has been a regular opponent for us. Both Celtic Cup matches will be very competitive and exactly what our team needs at this stage of our preparation for the ESB Electric Ireland Champions Challenge I. Our players are excited to be playing these matches after a demanding preparation stage. ”

Match Schedule:
Match 1:Saturday 4 June 2011 vs. Wales (Celtic Cup match)
Match 2:Sunday 5 June 2011 vs. Scotland (Celtic Cup match)
Match 3:Monday 6 June 2011 vs. Scotland (Additional match)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here