Preview: Munster minor football final Cork v Tipp

Cork and Tipperary will contest the Munster Minor Football Final in Killarney at 12pm this Sunday.

Cork are the defending Munster champions and go into this game having made three changes to the side that beat Clare in the semi-final in Ennis back in May.

The score that day was 1-16 to 0-06 in Cork’s favour as they were once again emphatic in victory over the Banner County after beating them in the first round by a narrower margin; 2-10 to 0-11.

Cork minor manager Brian Cuthbert has replaced Conor Dorman with Stephen Cronin of Nemo Rangers; Kevin Fulignati will switch to full back as Cronin, who is still part of the U16 panel, takes his place at left corner-back.

In midfield, Kevin Kavanagh drops to the bench in place of Darragh Murphy of Valley Rovers and David Harrington loses his place at centre-half forward as Alan Cadogan returns to the forward line; both Murphy and Cadogan featured as subs against Clare in the semis.

Tipperary manager David Power has made two changes to the team that surprised everyone with a narrow win over Kerry in Thurles in the semi-finals when they beat the Kingdom by the narrowest of margins after a late point by Liam McGrath secured the win with a point in the sixth minute of stoppage time.

Colin O’Riordan comes in at right half back as Bill Maher switches to left wing-forward at the expense of Dean Lonergan, while Daragh Butler makes way for Philip Quirke who will slot in at centre half-forward while Ian Fahey takes Butler’s place in midfield.

Cork and Kerry have a stranglehold on this competition, having won it between them every year since 1956, with the exceptions of 1984 and 1995 when Tipperary have stolen in for the win; a feat they will be hoping to repeat on Sunday.

Their record of playing against each other in the Munster minor championship doesn’t make for good reading for Tipp supporters as Cork have won 24 of their last 34 meetings, with Tipperary winning just eight and drawing twice.

Cork: J McDonnell; J Davis, K Fulignati, S Cronin; K Crowley, B O’Driscoll, TJ Brosnan; S Kiely, D Murphy; M Sugrue, A Cadogan, C Vaughan; D MacEoin, S O’Mahony, C O’Sullivan

Tipperary: G Slattery; N Sullivan, C O’Sullivan, S Kennedy; C O’Riordan, D Fitzell, A McGuire; S O’Brien, I Fahey; G Henry, P Quirke, B Maher; L McGrath, M Quinlivan, TJ Ryan. will have live score updates on all GAA Championship matches over the summer.

Follow SportNewsIRE on Twitter

Powered by Disqus


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here