Laois and Meath advance to Ladies Leinster final

There were some surprises in Sunday’s ladies football action as Meath put out TG4 All-Ireland Ladies Senior Football Champions Dublin to advance to this year’s Leinster Final.

The Royal County, who had lost to Dublin twice already this year, including a convincing defeat in the National League Division 2 final, ran out narrow one point winners.

The current All-Ireland champions who were favourites for the provincial title and who boasted a home advantage must now face the back door in their quest for a second successice All-Ireland title.

Meath started the stronger of the two and led by one point at half time, 0-5 to 0-4.

They continued where they had left off at the beginning of the second half, stretching thier lead to three points before the Dublin ladies battled back to level the game at 0-7 apiece.

The difference ultimately came down to a subsitition with the addition of Meath’s Ger Doherty who contributed three points in the closing stages, including the winning point, to edge Meath to victory.

It took the boot of Doherty to put daylight between the sides as points from top scorer Sinead Ahern and Elaine Kelly had brought Dublin back within contention once again.

Dublin, who were without influential trio Siobhan McGrath, Lyndsey Davey and Amy McGuinness, struggled to get to grips with the game and when Meath goalkeeper Irene Munnelly kept out a Lyndsey Peat goal effort on 26 minutes, it seemed it was not to be Dublin’s day.

Meath will now face Laois in the provincial decider on July 17th after the O’Moore women narrowly overcame Kildare to book a place in the TG4 Leinster Final.

Laois, managed by former county player Joe Higgins, had to fight back after a sluggish start which saw them traililng by 0-1 to 1-4 after ten minutes.

With Tracey Lawlor leading the charge, Laois fought back to narrow the gap to just two points at half time before producing an impressive second half
display to clinch the victory.

The influenital Lawlor produced an impressive tally of seven points while Martina Dunne notched five points for the winners.

It was also a commanding defensive display from the Laois women who will start as favourites in the Leinster final agaisnt Meath.


TG4 Ladies Leinster SFC semi-finals:

Dublin 0-9 Meath 0-10

Kildare 1-13 Laois 0-17

Kildare scorers: T Noone, S Cannon & A Gatley 0-3 each, D Gatley 1-0, N Earley 0-2, A Holden & C O’Malley 0-1 each.

Laois scorers: T Lawlor 0-7, M Dunne 0-5, S Doogue 0-2, M Kirwan, G Weston & A Casey 0-1 each.


Meath scorers: E Duffy 0-5, G Doherty 0-3, K O’Brien & G Nulty 0-1 each.

Dublin scorers: S Ahern 0-5, E Kelly 0-2, L Peat & A Ring 0-1 each. will have live score updates on all GAA Championship matches over the summer.

Follow SportNewsIRE on Twitter

Powered by Disqus


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here