Brian Gavin to referee the All-Ireland hurling final

The GAA has confirmed the referees and match officials for the 2011 GAA Hurling All-Ireland Senior and Minor Championship finals on September 4 with Brian Gavin handed his first Senior assignment.

The Offaly man will take charge of the Senior contest between Tipperary and Kilkenny, while Johnny Ryan of Tipperary will officiate in the Minor game between Dublin and Galway.

While this is Brian Gavin’s first senior assignment he is no stranger to big occasions.

The Clara clubman refereed the All-Ireland Minor final in 2004, the All-Ireland Under 21 final in 2006 and also has three All-Ireland semi-finals and two Munster finals to his name.

Westmeath’s Barry Kelly will be the standby referee, the other linesman is John Sexton (Cork) and the Sideline Official will be Alan Kelly (Galway).

His umpires on the day will be Michael Gavin, David Gavin, William Flynn (all Clara) and PJ Lawlor (Belmont).

Johnny Ryan, who will be officiating the Minor match, also has All-Ireland final experience having refereed the All-Ireland U21 final in 2007 as well as the All-Ireland Senior Hurling Club Final between Clarinbridge and O’Loughlin Gaels earlier this year.

Senior: Referee – Brian Gavin (Offaly)
Stand By Ref/Linesman – Barry Kelly (Westmeath)
Linesman – John Sexton (Cork)
Sideline Official – Alan Kelly (Galway)

Minor: Referee – Johnny Ryan (Tipperary)
Stand By Ref/Linesman – James McGrath (Westmeath)
Linesman – Colm Lyons (Cork)
Sideline Official – Sean Cleere (Kilkenny)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.