Preview U21 semi-final Galway V Limerick

Limerick and Galway meet this Saturday evening with a place in the All Ireland U21 hurling semi final, throw in 6.00pm, with a place in the final against either Dublin or Antrim awaiting the winners.

This semi-final will mark the first time that GAA fans will have see the Galway U21 as they will be making their debut in the competition against Limerick. While Limerick come into the game battle hardened after coming through a tough quarter final against Cork when extra time was needed to find a winner.

That day Limerick’s attack was potent. Against Cork they scored a goal after only 19 seconds of play and added a further 2-3 in a five minute blitz in the second half. Galway will have to guard against the Limerick attack and the edge of match fitness that Limerick have could prove crucial.

Limerick will be relying upon the likes of Shane Dowling, Michael Ryan, captain Kevin Downes and Graeme Mulcahy to lead the Limerick frontline and take the game to Galway

Galway meanwhile will be trying to continue the recent good run of the underage teams in the county at present. Along with the U21 the minor hurling team will also be looking to book their place in an All Ireland final this year.

However without a game in the championship so far the vote goes to Limerick who have a physical and mental edge over Galway and can supplement their victory over Cork and book their place in the U21 final.

Limerick team

1. Aaron Murphy (Hospital/Herbertstown)
2. Alan Dempsey (Na Piarsaigh)
3. Patrick Begley (Mungret)
4. Steve O’Reilly (Ballybrown)
5. James O’Brien (Na Piarsaigh)
6. Cian Hayes (Kildimo)
7. Thomas O’Callaghan (Monagea)
8. Conor Allis (Croom)
9. Seán O’Brien (Patrickswell)
10. Niall Kennedy (Granagh/Ballingarry)
11. Declan Hannon (Adare)
12. Shane Dowling (Na Piarsaigh)
13. Michael Ryan (Murroe/Boher)
14. Kevin Downes (Na Piarsaigh)(Capt.)
15. Graeme Mulcahy (Kilmallock)

Galway team
1. Jamie Ryan. Craughwell
2. Declan Connolly. Killimordaly
3. Niall Donoghue . Kilbeacanty
4. Ger O Halloran. Craughwell
5. Rory Foy Ballindereen
6. Paul Gordon. TAD
7. Jason Grealish. Gort
8. Johnny Coen. Loughrea
9. David Burke. St Thomas
10. Barry Daly. Clarinbridge
11. Niall Burke. Oranmore Maree
12. Tadhg Haran. Liam Mellows
13. James Regan. St Thomas
14. Conor Cooney. St Thomas
15. David Glennon. Mullagh


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.