Cavan beat Tyrone in Ulster Minor Football semi-final

Ulster Minor Football Championship semi-final
Cavan 2-13 2-10 Tyrone, Brewster Park FT

Two goals in three minutes from Connor Finnegan set up a win for Cavan minors over Tyrone. They will now play Armagh in the final.

Match Tracker
60+4 Its all over Cavan are into the final.
60+3 Vincent Coyle kicks a point for Cavan.
60+3 Cavan win a free out.
60+2 Sean Molloy the Tyrone full back gets a goal.
60+1 Four minutes injury time to play.
60min Joe Dillon kicks a great point for Cavan.
59min Tyrone need a goal.
58min Tyrone are back to four down after a nice point from play.
56min Free in for Tyrone, should be back to five. Darren McCurry kicks it over.
54min It looks like its going to be Cavan who will play Armagh in the Ulster final.
52min Another point for Cavan by Nevin O’Donnell.
52min Conor Finnegan gets another goal for Cavan.
51min Sub Ryan Myers gets a point back for Tyrone.
50min A goal for Conor Finnegan for Cavan.
49min Its been nearly fourteen minutes since the last score for Cavan.
48min Some poor play from both teams.
46min The next score could be vital.
44min McCurry kicks a free wide for Tyrone.
43min Cassidy levels the match with a point from play for Tyrone.
41min McNulty gets penalised for hand passing the ball into the Cavan net.
39min Another point from a free for Tyrone by McCurren, who are now only one behind.
37min McNulty kicks Tyrone’s first point of the second half.
36min Kevin Boucher kicks Cavan three ahead with a free from thirty yards out.
35min Paul Graham puts Cavan two ahead.
34min Cavan take the lead with a nice point from play.
33min F Moore levels it for Cavan.
32min Nothing of note only a few poor passes so far in the 2nd half.
31min Second half underway.
30min Two minutes injury time.
30min Cavan win a free out.
29min Darren McCurran kicks a free over for Tyrone.
27min Darren McViddy kicks his third point for Cavan.
26min The free is kicked wide from 25yards out. Cavan may live to rue all their missed chances.
25min Cavan win a free which should be kicked over.
25min Some good defending by Cavan.
22min Philip Barker kicks Tyrone back into the lead.
21min Andrew Graham levels the match with a nice point from play.
20min This time McCurry shot drops into the hands of the Cavan keeper.
19min Darren McCurry kicks his second point, this time from play.
16min Darren McCurry kicks a free over for Tyrone to level it up.
14min McViddy puts Cavan back in front.
12min Played delayed due to some injuries.
10min Free out for Tyrone after some poor play by Cavan.
7min Joe Dillon wins a penalty for Cavan. Andrew Graham kicks it wide.
5min Daniel McNulty gets a goal for Tyrone to level the match.
5min Daragh McViddy gets a third point for Cavan.
4min Nice point from play for Cavan, they lead by two.
3min Joe Dillon gets the first score of the match for Cavan.
2min Great save by Cavan goalkeeper Billy O’Mara, could of been an early goal for Tyrone.
1min Match underway.
0min Tyrone’s minors will take on Cavan this Sunday, 3rd July at 7pm in Brewster Park with both teams vying for a place in this years Ulster Minor Football Final.

Team news
Tyrone: M McReynolds; M Jones, S Molloy, M McAleer; M Heagney, C McAleer, B Burns; P Barker, N Donaghy; M Cassidy, J Munroe (Capt.), D McCurry, C McCullagh, S Hackett.

Cavan will face a stiff test against current All-Ireland champions Tyrone as they aim to make it to their first Ulster football final since 1974.

Tyrone ran out convincing winners against Monaghan 0-15 to 1-5 in their quarter final clash, while Cavan edged past Antrim to set up the semi-final meeting.

The Cavan minors will be hoping to lift county spirits following the seniors drubbing at the hands of Longford last weekend. A Cavan minor team has not won the Ulster Minor Football championship since 1974 and has only claimed The Liam Murray Cup on five occassions since the competition’s beginning.

In 2009 the county celebrated the 50th anniversary of arguably the most successful Cavan minor football team to date who won the Ulster title in 1959 and went on to reach the All-Ireland final in September before losing narrowly to Dublin by 0-11 to 1-4.

Current champions Tyrone on the other hand are by far the most succesful Ulster team at minor level and have won the competition 22 times including last year, 2010 when they went on to defeat Cork in the All-Ireland final by one point. They will be hoping to recreate this success as they set their sights on another double victory two years running.

While both sides are fully focused on the task ahead, the Ulster Gaa Council has announced a family friendly ticket pricing structure for the 2011 Ulster Senior and Minor Football Finals.

This signifies significant reductions from the 2010 prices and will include a a group rate focused at GAA Clubs taking juveniles for the ’50 4 50′ offer. This allows a group of 50 people (Up to 45 children U16 and 5 Adults) to attend the Ulster Final for €50. For families travelling to the games, tickets are available in all open seating sections of the stadium at a price of €25/£21 for adults and £5/€5 for Under 16’s. There will also be a reduction in Senior Citizen and Student prices while tickets will also cost less for the Hill terrace.

Tickets will be on sale from Monday 4th July.

Referee Brendan Rice will oversee the match in Brewster Park with the winner securing a place in this year’s final against Armagh who comfortably overcame Fermanagh 2-18, 0-7 in their semi-final clash. will have live score updates on all GAA Championship matches over the summer.

Follow SportNewsIRE on Twitter

Powered by Disqus


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.