Meath easily beat Wexford in Minor FC

David Byrne’s Wexford were easily beaten by Meath in the quarter finals of the Leinster Minor football championship

It was 0-09 0-02 at half time in favour Meath even though Wexford had the breeze, Wexford got their second point in the 12th minute and did not score again until the 55th minute.

Cillian O’Sullivan had a man of the match performance for Meath at full forward, he dominated the Wexford defence all afternoon.

Wille McGrath scored two great points in the second half before being substituted when Meath emptied their bench. Bobby O’Brien scored the Meath goal in the 58th minute.

Meath has the better pedigree at this level having won a total of 10 Leinster Minor titles; their most recent win coming in 2008 while Wexford had to go back as far as 1969 for their last Leinster Minor title.

Full report to follow

Meath team Wexford:

1. Robert Burlington, Simonstown Gaels 2. Anthony Forde, Moynalvey 3. Conor McGill, Ratoath
4. Cathal Finn, St Peters Dunboyne 5. Declan Smyth, Dunsany 6. Shane McEntee, St Peters Dunboyne 7. Shane Melia, Donaghmore/Ashbourne 8. Conor Sheridan, Simonstown Gaels 9. Adam Flanagan Clonard 10. Niall Shorthall, St Vincents/Curraha 11. Cathal Smith, O’Mahonys 12 Seamus Mattimoe, Round Towers 13. Bobby O’Brien, Ratoath 14 Cillian O’Sullivan, Moynalvey 15. Willie McGrath, Ballinlough/Inny Gaels


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here