Ireland name 25 man squad

The Republic of Ireland have named their 25 man squad for the upcoming EURO 2012 qualifier against Slovakia and Russia.

The major talking point was the exclusion of James McCarthy who drops down to the U21 side. McCarthy missed the friendly with Croatia due to injury but has featured for Wigan in their opening two games of the season.

However John O’Shea returns to the squad despite not yet featuring for his new club, Sunderland. Like McCarthy, O’Shea missed the Croatian game through injury but has now returned to training.

Speaking at the announcement of the squad, Ireland manager Giovanni Trapattoni said “Picking the final 25 players for the squad has not been an easy task, and unfortunately some players have been left out. We will continue to monitor their progress with their clubs, and call them up if necessary.”

“James McCarthy has been made available for selection for the Under 21 squad, but like other players, will be called up to the senior squad should he be required.

Ireland squad:
Goalkeepers: Shay Given (Aston Villa), Keiren Westwood (Sunderland), David Forde (Millwall),

Defenders: John O’Shea (Sunderland), Kevin Foley (Wolves), Stephen Kelly (Fulham), Stephen Ward (Fulham), Stephen Ward (Wolves), Richard Dunne (Aston Villa), Kevin Kilbane (Derby), Sean St. Ledger (Leicester City), Darren O’Dea (Leeds Utd)

Midfielders: Glenn Whelan (Stoke City), Darron Gibson (Manchester Utd), Keith Andrews (Ipswich), Keith Fahey (Birmingham), Andy Keogh (Leeds Utd), Damien Duff (Fulham), Aiden McGeady (Spartak Moscow), Stephen Hunt (Wolves), Liam Lawrence (Portsmouth), Keith Treacy (Burnley)

Strikers: Robbie Keane (LA Galaxy), Kevin Doyle (Wolves), Shane Long (WBA), Simon Cox (WBA).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here