Ireland team to play England, Sat 2:30pm

Its a must win game and Declan Kidney has named a strong Ireland team to play England in the last of the Guinness Summer Series on Saturday and there are a number of changes to the starting XV that played last weekend against France. Most notably the dropping of Johnny Sexton.

In the backline Geordan Murphy comes in at fullback to win his 70th cap with Tommy Bowe making his first start of the series on the wing. Andrew Trimble completes the back three.

Keith Earls will start alongside Gordon D’Arcy in the centre while Ronan O’Gara and Eoin Reddan form the halfback partnership.

Up front Jerry Flannery is named at hooker alongside Cian Healy and Mike Ross. Donncha O’Callaghan and Paul O’Connell are paired in the second row for their 40th start together in green with O’Connell named as captain.

Stephen Ferris and David Wallace both start for the first time in August with Jamie Heaslip completing the backrow trio.

Ireland Team & Replacements (V England, Guinness Summer Series, Aviva Stadium, Saturday August 27th, 14:30)

15 – Geordan Murphy (Leicester)
14 – Tommy Bowe (Ospreys)
13 – Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster)
12 – Gordon D’Arcy (Lansdowne/Leinster)
11 – Andrew Trimble (Ballymena/Ulster)
10 – Ronan O’Gara (Cork Constitution/Munster)
9 – Eoin Reddan (Lansdowne/Leinster)
1 – Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster)
2 – Jerry Flannery (Shannon/Munster)
3 – Mike Ross (Clontarf/Leinster)
4 – Donncha O’Callaghan (Cork Constitution/Munster)
5 – Paul O’Connell (Young Munster/Munster) Captain
6 – Stephen Ferris (Dungannon/Ulster)
7 – David Wallace (Garryowen/Munster)
8 – Jamie Heaslip (Naas/Leinster)

16 – Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster)
17 – Tom Court (Malone/Ulster)
18 – Donnacha Ryan (Shannon/Munster)
19 – Denis Leamy (Cork Constitution/Munster)
20 – Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster)
21 – Jonathan Sexton (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
22 – Fergus McFadden (Old Belvedere/Leinster)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here