All-Ireland Football Final refereee announced

The GAA has confirmed the referees and match officials for the 2011 GAA Football All-Ireland Senior and Minor Championship finals on September 18 with Joe McQuillan taking charge of his first Senior decider.

The Cavan native will be the man in middle for the eagerly anticipated contest between Dublin and Kerry, while Pádraig Hughes of Armagh will officiate in the Minor game between Dublin and Tipperary.

Although this is Joe McQuillan’s first Senior final he has plenty of experience of big match-day occasions.

The Kill Shamrocks clubman has two Leinster finals, a Munster decider as well as Club and U21 All-Ireland finals on his CV.

Meath’s David Coldrick will be the standby referee. The other linesman is Monaghan’s Pat McEnaney and the Sideline Official will be Maurice Condon (Waterford).

His umpires on the day will be Tommy O’Reilly, Ciarán Brady, TP Gray (all Kill Shamrocks) and Jimmy Galligan (Killygarry).

Pádraig Hughes of Crossmaglen Rangers will take charge of the minor game. He is no stranger to finals at this level having refereed the Minor final replay between Roscommon and Kerry in 2006, as well as the Ulster Senior Championship final in 2009.

The umpires for the minor game will be Dermot Hughes (Crossmaglen Rangers) Dessie McDonnell and Martin Moley, (both St Killians, Whitecross) and Pat McGeough, (Laurence O’Tooles, Belleek).


Referee – Joe McQuillan (Cavan)
Stand By Ref/Linesman – David Coldrick (Meath)
Linesman – Pat McEnaney (Monaghan)
Sideline Official – Maurice Condon (Waterford)

Referee – Pádraig Hughes (Armagh)
Stand By Ref/Linesman – Michael Duffy (Sligo)
Linesman – Barry Cassidy (Derry)
Sideline Official – John Reape (London)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.