France v Canada preview

France will look to continue their good start to Pool A tomorrow morning when they face a Canada, brimming with confidence, at McLean Park, kick off 9.30am Irish time.

In true French style, coach Marc Lièvremont has rung the changes, 11 in all, for the clash with Canada. Aurélien Rougerie has replaced Thierry Dusautoir as captain in a side that is vastly different from the one that struggled, at times, to put away Japan in their opening pool game.

While some in the French camp may be looking down the road to their pool decider with the All Blacks, Lièvremont is adamant France are taking the match against Canada very seriously.

“We are taking Canada very seriously because they are a dedicated and aggressive side defensively,” he said. “Also they have some really talented players who scored three well-constructed tries against Tonga.”

Their opponents meanwhile are coming into the game with a full complement of players, high on confidence after their narrow five point with against Tonga in round 1. Coach Kieran Crowley is under no illusions about the task that faces his side, but is confident that he side can make an impact.

““Mentally, (consistency) is important when you’re not used to rugby at that level,” Crowley said. “Some of the smaller teams in this tournament are staying with the stronger sides for 60 minutes but not the full 80 because of it.”

Crowley also feels that France will be out to prove something as they were criticised in some quarters for their performance against Japan ““I didn’t think their performance was as bad as what everyone is saying, but I guess that when you’re top four in the world people are going to expect things from you,” he said.

“France, the All Blacks, and teams like that, they don’t get to where they’re at by having weaknesses. We can only control what we bring on to the field.”


1. Jean-Baptiste Poux
2. William Servat
3. Luc Ducalcon
4. Pascal Pape
5. Romain Millo-Chluski
6. Fulgence Ouedraogo
7. Julien Bonnaire
8. Louis Picamoles
9. Morgan Parra
10. Francois Trinh-Duc
11. Aurélien Rougerie (c)
12. Maxime Mermoz
13. David Marty
14. Vincent Clerc
15. Damien Traille


16. Guilhem Guirado
17. Fabien Barcella
18. Julien Pierre
19. Imanol Harinordoquy
20. Dimitri Yachvili
21. Fabrice Estebanez
22. Maxime Médard


1. Hubert Buydens
2. Pat Riordan (c)
3. Jason Marshall
4. Jebb Sinclair
5. Jamie Cudmore
6. Adam Kleeberger
7. Chauncey O’Toole
8. Aaron Carpenter
9. Ed Fairhurst
10. Ander Monro
11. Phil Mackenzie
12. Ryan Smith
13. DTH van der Merwe
14. Ciaran Hearn
15. James Pritchard


16. Ryan Hamilton
17. Scott Franklin
18. Tyler Hotson
19. Nanyak Dala
20. Sean White
21. Nathan Hirayama
22. Conor Trainor


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.