Edinburgh v Munster team news & preview

Munster bid to retain their unbeaten start to the season when they travel to Murrayfield to take on Edinburgh, in the RaboDirect Pro12 series this Friday night, 7.30pm kick off.

The Irish side, unbeaten in their last 14 games, have looked very impressive in the opening rounds to date and currently sit top of the table ahead of the Ospreys and they will be fancied to maintain their current form against Michael Bradley’s Scottish side who have won only once to date, at home to another Irish side, Connacht.

Despite the absence of a number of big name players, Tony Gahan has seen his young Munster side beat all that has been put in front of them to date with Ian Keatley in particular one of those that has stepped up to the mark and has been outstanding for the team.

His goal kicking has been a feature of the competition to date, and he was impressive against Cardiff last weekend kicking six from six as Munster won 18-14.

Edinburgh will be well aware that they need to maintain their discipline this Friday if they are to prevent Keatley from punishing their mistakes.

Former Connacht head coach Bradley has had a difficult start to his new job and is already feeling the pressure. The Scottish side were defeated by Cardiff and the Ospreys in their opening two matches and while they recovered to beat Bradley’s former charges in Murrayfield the 25-19 defeat away to Aironi last weekend did little to lift the cloud over Murrayfield.

Munster should win this game comfortably and retain their unbeaten record in the competition. Edinburgh will be hoping to make it a real fight and if they can keep their visitors in sight up until halftime, then it could make for an interesting second period.

Team news:

BJ Botha, Marcus Horan, Ian Nagle who missed the clash with Cardiff last weekend all return to the squad and they are joined in the match day 29 by Simon Zebo, Paddy Butler and Dave O’Callaghan.

James Coughlan and skipper Peter O’Mahony, who both went off injured in the course of the Cardiff game, are also included in the squad.

Munster Squad (29) v Edinburgh: J Murphy, S Deasy, S Zebo, T Gleeson, D Barnes, L Mafi, D Hurley, D Howlett, P Stringer, D Williams, I Keatley, M Horan, J Hayes, W du Preez, J Ryan, S Archer, BJ Botha, D Fogarty, M Sherry, B Holland, M O’Driscoll, I Nagle, D Foley, D O’Callaghan, P O’Mahony, N Ronan, T O’Donnell, P Butler, J Coughlan


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.