Leinster v Aironi preview & team news

Leinster will look to continue the winning thread this weekend when they welcome Aironi to the RDS for their RaboPro 12 clash on Saturday evening, kick off 6.00pm.

Joe Schmidt’s side bounced back from their defeat at home to the Warriors two weeks ago by grinding out a five point win away to the Scarlets last weekend. That day Isa Nacewa led the way from the kicking tee and will again play a huge role if Leinster are to win.

Now down to the absolute bare bones of his squad Schmidt will give Stephen Sykes his first competitive start in the blue jersey along with Academy out-half Noel Reid who comes in for his senior debut.

Irish international Luke Fitzgerald gets another chance to impress in backline that has looked dangerous in the opening few matches this season.

Along with Fitzgerald Fionn Carr has been a livewire for Leinster this season. Blessed with an excellent rugby brain and oodles of pace, Carr has fitted in nicely into the Leinster set up and will be hungry to make his mark this Saturday.

Despite only wining one out of their first four games Aironi won’t be a push over. They gained their only win last week against Edinburgh and will be looking to build on that performance against Leinster.

If Leinster can get on top up front and in the collisions then they have the backline to really trouble Aironi. They will also want to make amenads for their first defeat in 28 games in the RDS when the Warriors broke that record. Leinster for the win, you would feel with a bit in hand.

15: Isa Nacewa
14: Fionn Carr
13: Eoin O’Malley
12: Luke Fitzgerald
11: Dave Kearney
10: Noel Reid
9: Cillian Willis
1: Heinke van der Merwe
2: Richardt Strauss
3: Jamie Hagan
4: Steven Sykes
5: Devin Toner
6: Ciaran Ruddock
7: Rhys Ruddock CAPTAIN
8: Leo Auva’a

16: Jason Harris-Wright
17: Jack McGrath
18: Jack O’Connell
19: Damian Browne
20: Jordi Murphy
21: John Cooney
22: Ian Madigan
23: Brendan Macken

15: Ruggero Trevisan
14: Sinoti Sinoti
13: Roberto Quartaroli
12: Gabriel Pizarro
11: Giovanbattista Venditti
10: Tito Tebaldi
9: Tyson Keats
1: Alberto De Marchi
2: Roberto Santamaria CAPTAIN
3: Fabio Staibano
4: Joshua Furno
5: George Biagi
6: Josh Sole
7: Simone Favaro
8: Nick Williams

16: Davide Giazzon
17: Matias Aguero
18: Luca Redolfini
19: Filippo Cazzola
20: Filippo Ferrarini
21: Naas Olivier
22: Gilberto Pavan
23: Riccardo Pavan

REFEREE: Marius Mitrea (FIR), ASSISTANT REFEREES: Leo Colgan, Mark Hermin (both IRFU), 4th OFFICIAL: Nigel Correll (Leinster Rugby Referees), 5th OFFICIAL:Andrew Baird (Leinster Rugby Referees)

Nominated for 2011 Realex Web Awards


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here