Tohill names provisonal series panel

Ireland International Rules manager Anthony Tohill has named a 31 man provisional training panel for the upcoming two game series tour of Australia.

Ireland is set to play Australia in games in Etihad Stadium Melbourne, on October 28th and the Metricon Stadium in Gold Coast on November 4 at 7.45pm (Australian time).

The team, which is due to depart for Australia on the 22nd October, has been training since the for the last couple of weeks and will be whittled down to a final panel of 23 to be announced, along with the team captain for the series, on the October 11.

Amongst those currently training with the panel are Armagh’s Steven McDonnell, Dublin All Ireland hero Stephen Cluxton and Meath’s Kevin Reilly while AFL stars Tadgh Kenelly and Pearse Hanley will join the panel on arrival in Australia

Speaking at the announcement of the squad, Tohill said: “We are very happy with the panel that has been assembled and with the mood within the squad. Those who have trained with us have applied themselves diligently and are looking forward to the challenge of regaining the Cormac McAnallen trophy.

“A number of other players were approached to join the training panel but were unable to do so due to injury and other commitments.”

“The Selectors and I are working our way through the difficult job of cutting the training panel to the required number of 23. Players not selected in the final 23 will be on standby. ” Tohill added.

The Irish coaching team is made up of Eoin Liston (Kerry), Kevin O’Brien (Wicklow), Seán Óg de Paor (Galway) and Kieran McGeeney (Armagh) while Mike McGurn is the squad’s physical trainer.

Both Tests will be broadcast live on TG4 while SportsNewsIreland will bring you all the news from the squad in the build up to the games as well as Live score commentary from the games themselves.

TG4 Ireland International Rules Preliminary Panel 2011
Stephen Cluxton (Dublin)
Leighton Glynn (Wicklow)
Rob Kelly (Kildare)
Emmet Bolton (Kildare)
Brendan Murphy (Carlow)
Colm Begley (Laois)
Kevin Reilly (Meath)
Karl Lacey (Donegal)
Neil McGee (Donegal)
Michael Murphy (Donegal)
Steven McDonnell (Armagh)
Ciarán McKeever (Armagh)
Danny Hughes (Down)
Kevin McKernan (Down)
Joe McMahon (Tyrone)
Darren Hughes (Monaghan)
Finian Hanley (Galway)
Donal Vaughan (Mayo)
Eoin Cadogan (Cork)
Aidan Walsh (Cork)
Patrick Kelly (Cork)
Tomas O’Connor (Kildare)
Eamon Callaghan (Kildare)
Kieran Donaghy (Kerry)
Darran O’Sullivan (Kerry)
Tommy Walsh (Kerry/St Kilda)
Michael Quinn (Longford /Essendon)
Chrissy McKaigue (Derry/Sydney Swans)
Zach Touhy (Laois – Carlton)
Tadhg Kennelly (Kerry/Sydney Swans)
Pearse Hanley (Mayo/Brisbane Lions)

Nominated for 2011 Realex Web Awards


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.