Trapattoni names Irish side for Andorra clash

Republic of Ireland manager Giovanni Trapattoni has named his team for Friday’s Euro 2012 qualifier with Andorra with the team showing two changes from the side that drew so admirably with Russia last month.

Fit again John o’Shea comes in at right in place of Stephen Kelly with Sean St Ledger returning to the side to replace the suspended Richard Dunne.

St Ledger will be partnered at the back with Darren O’Dea, who has shown his growing maturity of late with some fine performances in the green shirt.

Despite being just one card away from missing the crucial Armenia game Trapattoni has opted to include Glenn Whelan who lines up alongside in form midfielder Keith Andrews in the middle of the field.

Despite the threat of suspension looming, the Italian had told the stoke midfielder to play his normal game and to hold nothing back saying “I will advise him to be careful, but he must play like he always does.

“We have other midfielders. We have to play to win this game and ahead of the game in Dublin, we have time to think.

“These three points are more important than whether he gets a yellow card or not.”

Damien Duff and Aidan McGeady will man the flanks with the ever reliable Robbie Keane and Kevin Doyle up front.

Republic of Ireland team to play Andorra: Shay Given, John O’Shea, Sean St Ledger, Darren O’Dea, Stephen Ward, Damien Duff, Keith Andrews, Glenn Whelan, Aidan McGeady, Kevin Doyle, Robbie Keane.

Nominated for 2011 Realex Web Awards


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here