Ireland name squad for Scotland clash

Ireland Head Rugby league Coach Mark Aston has selected nine uncapped players in his match day squad to face Scotland this Sunday in Glasgow.

He has also included seven players who have competed in this years domestic competition as he looks to build towards the 2013 World Cup.

Recent St Helens recruits Ian Cross and Aaron McCloskey will both continue their meteoric rise as they pick up their first senior international caps.

Also making his debut is Tongan Born Lemeki Vunipulu who has been a stall worth of the Irish domestic game over the past number of years.
Warrington Wolves Loose forward Tyrone McCarthy will return to the squad after he missed out last season due to injury.

Sheffield Eagles winger Tim Bergin will miss his first match in two seasons as he serves a ban which he picked up during the Championship Grand Final.

Aston has been able to call on a man who crushed his Championship dreams with Ireland’s highest ever point scorer Liam Finn remaining in the Wolfhounds squad.

The Featherstone scrum half will be looking to put in a performance similar to that of his Championship Grand Final appearance which saw him score over twenty points.

The Wolfhounds have only ever lost once against Scotland with that defeat coming last October in Tallaght Stadium when despite seemingly cruising towards victory at half time they fell to the Scottish and where handed the Alitalia Cup wooden spoon.

Speaking ahead of the fixture Aston said “We want to get off to a good start and to perform better than last year.”

“I spoke to the players about the games and outlined that we want to see them improving and proving that they want to play for Ireland. They have to be proud to play for their country.”

Ireland Squad to Face Scotland:
Jonathan Cullen* (Ballynachinch Rabbitohs), Paddy Barcoe (Carlow RL), Elliot Cosgrove* (Dewsbury Rams),Liam Finn (Featherstone Rovers), Bob Beswick, Paul Handforth, James Haley (Halifax), Greg McNally (Huddersfield Giants), Callum Casey* (Leeds Rhinos), Joe Taylor (North Dublin Eagles), Paddy Boyle* (Oxford University), Ian Cross*, Aaron McCloskey* (St Helens), Ged Corcoran (Toulouse), Lemeki Vunipulu* (Treaty City Titans), Kyle Amor* (Wakefield Trinity Wildcats), Tyrone McCarthy (Warrington Wolves), Sean Carmody* (York City Knights)
* Denotes Uncapped Player

Nominated for 2011 Realex Web Awards


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.