Dunshaughlin v Summerhill preview


Summerhill will take on Dunshaughlin in a replay of the Meath County Final in Navan tomorrow, Sunday 16th October with kick-off at 3pm.

Brian Ennis’ late free earned favourites Summerhill a draw after pegging Dunshaughlin back in what was a closely contested Meath Farm Machinery SFC final at Pairc Tailteann on Sunday, October 2 last.

While Dunshaughlin may have rued the concession of a late equaliser, it was generally considered that no side had lost their chance of securing the silverware.

Both teams finsihed with ten points apiece on what was an overcast and occassionaly drizzly afternoon. The game was hardfought throughout with eleven players getting on the scoresheet in the first half alone.

Despite enjoying the stronger of starts, favourites Summerhill were soon pegged back by a dogged Dunshaughlin side and now the teams must do it all over again as they bid for for the honour of lifting the Keegan Cup.

Since its establishment in 1931, Summerhill Football Club has won five Meath Senior Football Championships, including 1977 when they became the first Meath team to win the Leinster Championship.

They will be hoping to add to this tomorrow as they aim to take the title for the sixth time in the club’s history.

Standing in their way is a Dunsaughlin outfit who won their first ever Meath Senior Football title in 2000 before going on to do the treble with another two back to back title wins in 2001 and 2002.

The game will kick-off at 3pm in Park Tailteann and referee David Gough will officiate.

With more experience under their belt, Summerhill were favourites going into the final and despite an impressive display from Dunshaughlin, Summerhill will know what they have to do and they will be expected to shade it on Sunday.

Verdict: Summerhill

Nominated for 2011 Realex Web Awards


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.