2011 Hurling All-Stars announced

Reigning All-Ireland champions Kilkenny have earned eight places on the 2011 GAA GPA Hurling All-Stars team, announced today.

This tally is only second to the nine nominations The Cats picked up in 2000 and 2008.

Henry Shefflin establishes a new record receiving his 10th personal award, beating the previous best he jointly-held with Kilkenny legend DJ Carey and Kerry great Pat Spillane. Shefflin’s Team-mate Tommy Walsh has also extended his run of Awards to nine.
Fellow 2011 finalists Tipperary received four places while Dublin are celebrating having received their greatest number on an All-Star hurling team with two.Waterford complete the line up with their single place.
First time winners are Gary Maguire, Paul Murphy, Michael Cahill, Brian Hogan, Liam Rushe and Richie Hogan.
For the second year running, only four counties — again, the All-Ireland semi-finalists — featured in the team.
The GAA and the GPA in conjunction with sponsors Opel run the All-Star scheme.
The full team is as follows:
1. Gary Maguire (Dublin)
Full backs
2. Paul Murphy (Kilkenny)
3. Paul Curran (Tipperary)
4. Michael Cahill (Tipperary)
Half backs
5. Tommy Walsh (Kilkenny)
6. Brian Hogan (Kilkenny)
7. Pádraic Maher (Tipperary)
8. Liam Rushe (Dublin)
9. Michael Fennelly (Kilkenny)
Half forwards
10. Michael Rice (Kilkenny)
11. Richie Power (Kilkenny)
12. Henry Shefflin (Kilkenny)
Full forwards
13. John Mullane (Waterford)
14. Lar Corbett (Tipperary)
15. Richie Hogan (Kilkenny)

Nominated for 2011 Realex Web Awards


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.