Sebastian Vettel wins Indian Grand Prix

Sebastian Vettel achieved Formula One’s grand chelem of pole, win, fastest lap and leading for every single lap, to further underline his dominant campaign.

In the end, Vettel finished a comfortable 8.4 secs ahead of Jenson Button in his McLaren.

Again, though, arguably the major talking point to emerge from the race was yet another incident involving Ferrari’s Felipe Massa and McLaren’s Lewis Hamilton.

“All in all it was a very smooth race, the car was well balanced.”
Vettel paid tribute to Wheldon and Simoncelli, adding: “I’ve a little bit of mixed emotions.

“I’m very proud to be the first winner of the Indian Grand Prix, but then on the other hand we recently lost two of our mates.

“I didn’t know Dan Wheldon, but he was big in motorsport, and then this year I got to know Marco Simoncelli, so our thoughts are with them at the moment.”

Button and Alonso echoed the sentiments, with the former stating: “It’s been a tough weekend for everyone after the two fatalities.
“I knew Dan very well, so this is a very sad day for motorsport.
“We should dedicate this first Indian race to Dan and Marco, a super-talented guy, the most amazing guy to ride on a bike.”

Alonso added: “As Jenson and Sebastian said, a tough weekend, and out thoughts are with Dan and Marco.”

Final Positions: 1 Sebastian Vettel (Ger) Red Bull 1hr 30mins 35.002secs, 2 Jenson Button (Gbr) McLaren 1:30:43.435, 3 Fernando Alonso (Spa) Ferrari 1:30:59.303, 4 Mark Webber (Aus) Red Bull 1:31:00.531, 5 Michael Schumacher (Ger) Mercedes GP 1:31:40.423, 6 Nico Rosberg (Ger) Mercedes GP 1:31:41.853, 7 Lewis Hamilton (Gbr) McLaren 1:31:59.185, 8 Jaime Alguersuari (Spa) Scuderia Toro Rosso at 1 Lap, 9 Adrian Sutil (Ger) Force India at 1 Lap, 10 Sergio Perez (Mex) Sauber-Ferrari at 1 Lap, 11 Vitaly Petrov (Rus) Renault at 1 Lap, 12 Bruno Senna (Bra) Renault at 1 Lap, 13 Paul di Resta (Gbr) Force India at 1 Lap, 14 Heikki Kovalainen (Fin) Lotus F1 at 2 Laps, 15 Rubens Barrichello (Bra) Williams at 2 Laps, 16 Jerome d’Ambrosio (Bel) Virgin Racing at 3 Laps, 17 Narain Karthikeyan (Ind) HRT-F1 at 3 Laps, 18 Daniel Ricciardo (Aus) HRT-F1 at 3 Laps, 19 Jarno Trulli (Ita) Lotus F1 at 5 Laps


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here