Women’s Cricket World Cup qualifiers

Another exciting season for the men is at a close but still plenty of cricket to come for followers of the game in Ireland. Cricket Ireland in fact has recently nominated 14 players to travel to Bangladesh for the qualifying competition commencing November 14th.

Four teams will progress to the World Cup, scheduled for India in 2012. The event will also double up as a qualifier for the Women’s T20 World Cup, with two places on offer. In addition, the top six teams in the event will be granted ODI status.

Ireland will be captained at the event by Isobel Joyce, who is well aware of the importance of the competition: “It would have been very tough for the selectors to pick the final 14 traveling to the World Cup Qualifiers in Bangladesh because every player in the training squad of 18 that was selected in September was working so hard, but the competition has definitely been beneficial.

“It has been a very new experience having Jeremy Bray as head coach in preparations for a big tournament for the first time. He has such a wealth of experience himself and has brought in the likes of John Wills and Trent Johnston to help as well, so we are mentally and tactically more prepared for this tour than we have been for a long time.

“The strength of the traveling squad is illustrated by the ongoing competition for starting XI spots. Some of the younger players like Kim Garth and Laura Delany now have a lot of experience and have had to take on leading roles, and they have stepped up to the challenge admirably.

“Two teams from our group will qualify for the World Cup and our main competition for one of those spots are West Indies and Pakistan, our first two opponents. Pakistan are ranked just one spot ahead of us and I believe that we are well equipped to take them on, and though West Indies are another few ranking places up, we will be looking to beat them for the first time since the world cup qualifiers in 2002.”

The tournament runs from November 14-25 in Bangladesh. Ireland have been drawn in Group B alongside Bangladesh, West Indies, Pakistan and Japan.

The Ireland squad in full is:

Isobel Joyce (Captain) (Merrion)
Laura Cullen (Clontarf )
Laura Delany (Leinster)
Kim Garth (Pembroke)
Cecelia Joyce (Merrion)
Shauna Kavanagh (Pembroke)
Amy Kenealy (Leinster)
Louise McCarthy (Pembroke)
Eimear Richardson (Leinster)
Melissa Scott-Hayward (Leinster)
Clare Shillington (Malahide)
Elena Tice (Merrion)
Mary Waldron (Pembroke )+Wicket Keeper
Jill Whelan (Merrion)
Jeremy Bray (Coach)
Sandra Dawson (Manager)

SportsNewsIreland will bring you news of the games involving Ireland as the tournament progresses.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.