William Hill Grand Slam of Darts draw


WOLVERHAMPTON favourite Wayne Jones will open the William Hill Grand Slam of Darts on Saturday night when the £400,000 tournament kicks off at the Wolves Civic.

The 32-player tournament begins at 8pm on Saturday night with eight group matches from Groups A-D being held in front of a sell-out crowd.

Jones, whose run to the semi-finals of last year’s Grand Slam of Darts saw the town unite in support of their local professional, will take on World Grand Prix runner-up Brendan Dolan in the tournament’s opening game.

Mark Walsh meets Tony O’Shea before debutant Dean Winstanley faces two-time World Champion Ted Hankey in the night’s third game.

Five-time World Champion Raymond van Barneveld plays another newcomer, Stoke’s Ian White, in game four before 2010 Grand Slam of Darts runner-up James Wade plays Dave Chisnall.

Reigning champion Scott Waites then takes to the stage against Michael van Gerwen, Premier League Darts winner Gary Anderson meets Wildcard Qualifier Nigel Heydon and former finalist Terry Jenkins plays Justin Pipe in the final game of the opening night.

Sunday’s afternoon session sees Groups E-H enter the fray, and opens with a Group F double-header as Paul Nicholson plays Barrie Bates and Wes Newton faces Sweden’s Magnus Caris.

Mark Webster plays Arron Monk in the third game and Vincent van der Voort meets Co Stompe in an all-Dutch affair before two matches from Group E take place, as Mervyn King plays 2010 semi-finalist Steve Beaton and three-time Grand Slam of Darts champion Phil Taylor places 19-year-old debutant James Hubbard.

Reigning PDC World Champion Adrian Lewis takes on Martin Phillips before Dutch debutant Jan Dekker plays Canada’s John Part in the afternoon’s final game.

The Sunday evening session will see Groups A-D play their second games, with Saturday’s winners playing each other and the losers also facing off, with their final group game coming on Tuesday.

Groups E-H play their second games on Monday night and their third group games on Wednesday night, before the top two players from each group progress to compete in the knockout stages from Thursday onwards.

The Grand Slam of Darts’ group stages feature the prospect of a unique nine-dart shoot-out should players in a certain group be tied on both points won and leg difference at the end of the round-robin phase – with the tied players doing battle for the highest score over nine darts for a place in the last 16.

Tickets for the William Hill Grand Slam of Darts remain on sale from the Wolves Civic Box Office in person or on 0870 320 7000.

William Hill Grand Slam of Darts
Schedule of Play
Saturday November 12
Groups A-D First Games
Wayne Jones v Brendan Dolan (C)
Mark Walsh v Tony O’Shea (A)
Dean Winstanley v Ted Hankey (B)
Raymond van Barneveld v Ian White (D)
James Wade v Dave Chisnall (B)
Scott Waites v Michael van Gerwen (A)
Gary Anderson v Nigel Heydon (C)
Terry Jenkins v Justin Pipe (D)

Sunday November 13
Afternoon Session – 2pm-6pm
Groups E-H First Games
Paul Nicholson v Barrie Bates (F)
Wes Newton v Magnus Caris (F)
Mark Webster v Arron Monk (G)
Vincent van der Voort v Co Stompe (H)
Mervyn King v Steve Beaton (E)
Phil Taylor v James Hubbard (E)
Adrian Lewis v Martin Phillips (H)
Jan Dekker v John Part (G)

Evening Session – 8pm-12am
Groups A-D Second Games
The winners of Saturday’s games will play each other, and the losers will play each other.

Monday November 14
Groups E-H Second Games
The winners of Sunday afternoon’s games will play each other, and the losers will play each other.

Tuesday November 15
Groups A-D Final Games

Wednesday November 16
Groups E-H Final Games

Thursday November 17
Winner A v Runner-Up B
Winner B v Runner-Up A
Winner C v Runner-Up D
Winner D v Runner-Up C

Friday November 18
Winner E v Runner-Up F
Winner F v Runner-Up E
Winner G v Runner-Up H
Winner H v Runner-Up G

Saturday November 19
Afternoon Session – 1pm-5pm
Quarter-Finals x2

Evening Session – 7pm-11pm
Quarter-Finals x2

Sunday November 20
Afternoon Session – 2.30pm-6pm

Evening Session – 8pm-10pm
(Order of play from Thursday onwards TBC)

First Round (Group Phase) Best of nine legs
Second Round Best of 19 legs
Quarter-Finals Best of 31 legs
Semi-Finals Best of 31 legs
Final Best of 31 legs

Tournament Odds
Courtesy WilliamHill.com – Odds correct at 1pm on November 8 2011

Outright Winner
5/4 Phil Taylor
13/2 Gary Anderson
9/1 James Wade
10/1 Adrian Lewis
16/1 Raymond van Barneveld
20/1 Scott Waites
25/1 Paul Nicholson
25/1 Wes Newton
33/1 Mark Webster
40/1 Dave Chisnall
40/1 Terry Jenkins
40/1 Mervyn King
50/1 Ted Hankey
50/1 Tony O’Shea
66/1 Dean Winstanley
66/1 Vincent van der Voort
66/1 John Part
66/1 Justin Pipe
80/1 Brendan Dolan
80/1 Mark Walsh
100/1 Wayn! e Jones
100/1 Martin Phillips
125/1 Ian White
125/1 Steve Beaton
125/1 Co Stompe
125/1 Nigel Heydon
150/1 Michael van Gerwen
200/1 Jan Dekker
250/1 Arron Monk
250/1 Magnus Caris
500/1 Barrie Bates
500/1 James Hubbard
Group Winner
Group A
6/4 Scott Waites
2/1 Mark Walsh
11/4 Tony O’Shea
11/2 Michael van Gerwen
Group B
8/13 Raymond van Barneveld
3/1 Dean Winstanley
7/2 Ted Hankey
14/1 Ian White
Group C
4/6 Gary Anderson
7/2 Wayne Jones
7/2 Brendan Dolan
8/1 Nigel Heydon
Group D
13/8 James Wade
5/2 Terry Jenkins
5/2 Dave Chisnall
4/1 Justin Pipe
Group E
2/7 Phil Taylor
4/1 Mervyn King
11/2 Steve Beaton
33/1 James Hubbard
Group F
11/10 Wes Newton
6/5 Paul Nicholson
7/1 Barrie Bates
9/1 Magnus Caris
Group G
5/4 Mark Webster
6/4 John Part
9/2 Jan Dekker
7/1 Arron Monk
Group H
10/11 Adrian Lewis
5/2 Vincent van der Voort
4/1 Co Stompe
6/1 Martin Phillips
Opening Match Odds
Saturday Evening Session
Wayne Jones 11/10 v Brendan Dolan 8/11
Mark Walsh 8/13 v Tony O’Shea 13/10
Dean Winstanley 8/11 v Ted Hankey 11/10
Raymond van Barneveld 1/8 v Ian White 5/1
James Wade 4/9 v Dave Chisnall 7/4
Scott Waites 4/11 v Michael van Gerwen 21/10
Gary Anderson 1/6 v Nigel Heydon 4/1
Terry Jenkins 8/11 v Justin Pipe 11/10

Sunday Afternoon Session
Paul Nicholson 4/11 v Barrie Bates 21/10
Wes Newton 1/3 v Magnus Caris 9/4
Mark Webster 4/11 v Arron Monk 21/10
Vincent van der Voort 4/6 v Co Stompe 6/5
Mervyn King 4/7 v Steve Beaton 11/8
Phil Taylor 1/50 v James Hubbard 12/1
Adrian Lewis 3/10 v Martin Phillips 5/2
Jan Dekker 7/4 v John Part 4/9



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.