Munster GAA Awards (U21 and Minors)

Cork dominated the Under 21 Bord Gáis Energy Munster GAA Awards for 2011, with winners in hurling and football from the county announced yesterday.

Cork’s dual star Aidan Walsh has scooped the Under 21 Hurler of the Year while the highly talented Ciaran Sheehan was crowned Under 21 Footballer of the Year. The players will be receiving their awards at the upcoming Bord Gáis Energy Munster GAA Awards which is taking place on 3 December in the Malton Hotel, Killarney.
Meanwhile the Minor Hurler award went to Clare’s Tony Kelly and Tipperary’s TJ Ryan took the Minor Footballer award.

Speaking on the announcement of the Under 21 and Minor winners for 2011, Bord Gáis Energy Sports Sponsorship Manager Ger Cunningham said “There is some amazing talent coming through at U21 and Minor level in GAA and it is fitting that we are recognising our future GAA stars at the Bord Gáis Energy Munster GAA Awards which also honours GAA legends, past and present. I wish both the U21 and Minor winners for 2011 long and successful careers in their respective sports.”

Also speaking on the announcement of these awards Sean Walsh, Chairman of Munster GAA said ‘’The Minor and Under 21 players being honoured made significant contributions during this year’s underage championship’s which were played at a high standard”.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.