Leinster v Glasgow preview

Leinster will be looking to register their first victory in this years Heineken Cup when they welcome the Glasgow Warriors to the RDS tomorrow afternoon, kick off 12.45pm.

The two time European champions got the defence of their Heineken title under way last weekend when a last minute Jonny Sexton penalty salvaged a draw with competition new boys Montpellier.

Joe Schmidt admitted that the draw was ‘bitter sweet’ and will no do be looking to right a few wrongs when his side step out in front of their home crowd on Sunday afternoon.

Jonny Sexton’s place kicking aside Leinster know that they will have to step up a lot on last weeks performance. On too many occasions did Leinster let Montpellier off the hook, be it through wasteful play or sloppy defence.

The Leinster side shows two changes from the side that travelled to France last weekend. Centre Eoin O’Malley comes in to replace Fergus McFadden who has a dead leg, while Eoin Redden comes in for his first start of the season with Isaac Boss dropping to the bench.

Glasgow arrive in Dublin fresh from a successful start to their European campaign. A stunning 26-21 defeat of English side Bath on opening weekend has put the Scottish side in pole position in Pool C.

They will also have no fear of the RDS as they managed to defeat Leinster here in their RaboPro 12 match back in September.

Prediction. While you have to respect Glasgow, Surely this is the game where Leinster will register their first European victory of the season. Joe Schmidt will have his team fired up for this one and with a pumped up home support behind them Leinster are selected to win. Leinster to win by over 12.5 points looks a cracking bet at 1.4 with Betfair and could be huge value come tomorrow evening.

15: Rob Kearney
14: Isa Nacewa
13: Eoin O’Malley
12: Gordon D’Arcy
11: Luke Fitzgerald
10: Jonathan Sexton
9: Eoin Reddan
1: Heinke van der Merwe
2: Sean Cronin
3: Mike Ross
4: Leo Cullen CAPTAIN
5: Devin Toner
6: Kevin McLaughlin
7: Sean O’Brien
8: Jamie Heaslip
16: Richardt Strauss
17: Cian Healy
18: Nathan White
19: Rhys Ruddock
20: Shane Jennings
21: Isaac Boss
22: Ian Madigan
23: Fionn Carr

15: Stuart Hogg
14: Tommy Seymour
13: Peter Murchie
12: Graeme Morrison
11: Colin Shaw
10: Duncan Weir
9: Chris Cusiter
1: Ryan Grant
2: Pat MacArthur
3: Mike Cusack
4: Richie Gray
5: Al Kellock CAPTAIN
6: Rob Harley
7: John Barclay
8: Ryan Wilson
16: Finlay Gillies
17: Jon Welsh
18: Ed Kalman
19: Tom Ryder
20: Henry Pyrgos
21: Chris Fusaro
22: Federico Aramburu
23: Troy Nathan

REFEREE: Andrew Small (RFU), ASSISTANT REFEREES: Martin Fox, Roy Maybank (both RFU), 4th OFFICIAL: Kevin Beggs (IRFU), 5th OFFICIAL: Brian MacNeice (IRFU), TMO: Graham Hughes (RFU)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.