Cunningham wields the axe with Galway squad

New Galway manager Anthony Cunningham has laid down the law to his Galway side by axing a number of big name players from next seasons panel.

Last year’s captain Damien Joyce is out , as is his predecessor as skipper, Shane Kavanagh, along with former All-Star Ger Farragher. They are also joined by Donal Barry, Adrian Cullinane and John Lee, who have also fallen on Cunningham’s axe.

While a number of senior names have fallen by the wayside, the majority of the U21 squad that Cunningham managed to an All-Ireland title have been included in the panel.

Speaking to the Irish Examiner Cunningham said “”Some of those players who are not included have given years of service to Galway hurling and we acknowledge that, but we think this is the best squad at the moment. It will change, some will come and go.

“We will be monitoring club and college games, as well as the Galway development squad, and the squad will be revised again for the national league.”

Galway squad 2012:
J Skehill, D Collins, F Moore, T Óg Regan, K Hynes, A Smith, C Donnellan, E Ryan, D Hayes, J Canning, M Lydon, J Ryan, B Daly, C Cooney, D Burke, D Glennon, G O’Halloran, J Regan, J Grealish, J Coen, N Burke, R Cummins, B Regan, I Tannian, B Burke, C Burke, D Cooney, D Fox, F Flannery, N Donoghue, P Gordon, T Haran, A Harte, P Huban, M Horan, B Flaherty.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.