Leinster Announce 2011 HETAC Graduates

Leinster Rugby have today announced the graduates of the 2011 HETAC programme. Jason Harris-Wright, Ian McKinley, Tom Sexton and Eamonn Sheridan received their Diplomas in Professional Rugby at an awards ceremony in the RDS this afternoon.

All four players who received their diplomas follow in the footsteps of Fionn Carr, Matthew D’Arcy, Felix Jones, Ross McCarron, Conor McInerney, Kevin McLaughlin, Shane Monahan, Sean O’Brien, James Power, Jonathan Sexton, Richie Sweeney, Devin Toner, Kyle Tonetti and Cillian Willis who have all graduated from the same programme in recent years.

The programme, which is overseen by Academy manager Colin McEntee, runs for three years and covers such areas as Rugby Technical, Tactical, Generic, Fitness, Lifestyle, Media and Psychological skills.

Speaking at the awards ceremony Mr McEntee said “The Diploma in Professional Rugby is a very important part of the Leinster Academy programme and we pride ourselves on our provincial development pathway and in encouraging players to have the best all-round education on and off the field.

“Through our association with HETAC, it enables Leinster Rugby to conduct a course, culminating in a Diploma, which is specifically designed to prepare for all aspects of professional sport.

“We are delighted that four more of our Academy graduates have received their Diplomas today and we wish Jason, Ian, Tom and Eamonn every success in the future.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.