Crossmaglen win Ulster club title

Press F5 or refresh for latest update
Ulster Club SFC final
Crossmaglen Rangers (Armagh) 2-11 v 0-10 Burren (Down), Morgan Athletic Grounds, 3.15pm

Live score commentary
0min The two must successful clubs in Ulster football championship history will do battle in what promises to be a very exciting Senior Club Final at Casement Park on Sunday.

Defending champions Crossmaglen of Armagh are bidding to capture back to back titles and their 9th overall championship win while Down side Burren, who last won the provincial crown in 1988, are seeking their 6th title.

Crossmaglen beat St. Gall’s of Antrim in emphatic fashion by 3-9 to 2-5 before setting up a semi-final showdown with Ballinderry (Derry) in Casement park.
The enticing encounter saw the Armagh champions notch up an impressive 17 points before running out eventual 3 point winners by 0-17 to 1-10 to reach the final.

Burren eased passed Roslea of Fermanagh by 1-15 to 2-5 at the quarter-final stage before overcoming Latton of Monaghan by 1-10 to 0-11 in a close semi-final encounter.

Crossmaglen Rangers regained the County title in 1996 after a lapse of ten years, beating Clan Na Gael 3-12 to 1-4 and have since gone on to win a further eight titles.

It has been a long road to the final for Burren with the Down champions last reaching the final stage of the competition in 1992. The club enjoyed a hugely successful period in the 1980’s, during which they won four of their five Ulster club championships.

Both sides boast prolific talent with Aaron Kernan (0-9), Oisin McConville (1-3), Aaron Cunningham (1-1), Jamie Clarke (1-1) and Stephen Kernan (0-4) all in impressive scoring form for Crossmaglen while Donal O’Hare (0-6), Paudie Poland (1-3) and Shay McArdle (1-1) have been most accurate for Burren.

With Down county stars, Kevin McKernan and Daniel McCartan key figures in the Burren defence, their clash with the exciting Crossmaglen attack, featuring the likes of the Kernan brothers, former Armagh star Oisin McConville and Jamie Clarke, is set to be a mouthwatering contest and it is here that the game could be decided.

Crossmaglen have never lost an Ulster final and are certainly the most successful of the two sides in recent years with five title wins since the turn of the Millenium. Burren last reached the final in 1992 when they lost to Lavey and last won the title in 1988.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.