Crossmaglen claim 9th Ulster title

Armagh Champions Crossmaglen claimed their ninth Ulster title with a convincing 2-11 to 0-10 win over Burren at the Athletic Grounds in Armagh

The All-Ireland champions showed their experience and although their task was made all the more easier following the sending off Burren midfielder Anton McArdle, who was shown a red card after just 14 minutes.

In front of a crowd of just over 8,600 goals from Oisin McConville and Kyle Carragher helped Crossmaglen to their 5th title in 6 years and 9th since 1996, a remarkable record in modern football.

McConville and Carragher may have got the goals however it was the skills of Jamie Clarke lit up the game, the full forward scoring 2 points and setting up McConville for the goal.

Clarke, Aaron Cunningham, and David McKenna all scored points in the opening minutes as Crossmaglen raced in to a 0-4 to 0-0 lead and their task was made all the easier when McArdle, received a straight red card following an incident involving Tony Kernan.

That galvanised the Down champions and they responded in positive fashion, scoring points through Donal O’Hare and Conal McGovern.

If the sending off had an impact on the game, the first goal when it arrived had an even bigger on as it came from Crossmaglen back McConville taking a pass from Clarke to step around Burren goalkeeper Cathal Murdock and slot the ball in the net.

Burren scored three points to stay within touching distance of Crossmaglen but it was the Armagh side who went in at half time leading 1-7 to 0-5.

Burren came out all guns blazing at the start of the second half as points from Kevin McKernan and two frees from O’Hare made it a three point game.

However any hope of a comeback was dashed in the 56th minute when Paul McKeown’s long delivery caused havoc in the Burren defence allowing substitute Kyle Carragher go the slightest of touches to guide the ball to the net.

Crossmaglen: P Hearty, J Morgan, P Kernan, P McKeown, A Kernan (0-2, 2f), D O’Callaghan, S Finnegan, J Hanratty, D McKenna (0-1), T Kernan (0-1, ’45), S Kernan (0-1, f), A Cunningham (0-2), J Clarke (0-2), O McConville (1-2, 2f), M McNamee.

Burren: C Murdock, R McGovern, D McCartan, G McCartan, K McKernan (0-1), Ciaran McGovern, D McEntee, A Higgins, A McArdle, Conal McGovern (0-1), S Murdock, P Poland, D O’Hare (0-7, 6f), J McGovern (0-1), S McArdle.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here