Leinster team to play Cardiff

The Leinster team to face Cardiff Blues in Friday night’s RaboDirect PRO12 clash at the RDS (KO: 8.05pm) has been named.

Leo Cullen leads the team which shows a number of changes to the side that defeat Benetton Treviso 30-20 last weekend. Cullen partners Steven Sykes at second row with Sean O’Brien joining fellow Ireland internationals Shane Jennings and Rhys Ruddock in the back-row.

Eoin O’Malley continues at centre alongside Fergus McFadden who completed a 100% kicking record in his 15-point haul last weekend. David Kearney also takes his place alongside Fionn Carr – a try-scorer in Italy – and the returning Isa Nacewa.

Jonathan Sexton is named on a strong replacements bench alongside the likes of fellow Ireland internationals Sean Cronin, Rob Kearney and Mike Ross.

Over 16,000 tickets have now been sold for Friday’s game and tickets are still on sale online from www.leinsterrugby.ie, the Leinster Rugby Store (Donnybrook), Spar (Donnybrook) and Ticketmaster outlets nationwide. The Ticketmaster van (Simmonscourt Road) and ticket office (located inside the Anglesea Gate) will also be selling tickets at the RDS from 4pm on Friday.


15: Isa Nacewa
14: David Kearney
13: Eoin O’Malley
12: Fergus McFadden
11: Fionn Carr
10: Ian Madigan
9: Isaac Boss

1: Cian Healy
2: Richardt Strauss
3: Nathan White
4: Leo Cullen CAPTAIN
5: Steven Sykes
6: Rhys Ruddock
7: Shane Jennings
8: Sean O’Brien


16: Sean Cronin
17: Heinke van der Merwe
18: Mike Ross
19: Damian Browne
20: Leo Auva’a
21: Eoin Reddan
22: Jonathan Sexton
23: Rob Kearney

REFEREE: Andrew Macpherson (SRU), ASSISTANT REFEREES: Leo Colgan, Peter Roche (both IRFU), 4th OFFICIAL: Dermot Blake (Leinster Rugby Referees), 5th OFFICIAL: Arthur Lynch (Leinster Rugby Referees), TMO: Seamus Flannery (IRFU)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here