Chloe Magee looks forward to Badmington Open

Badminton: Chloe Magee looks forward to Irish Open

Irish players are gearing up for the Yonex Irish International Badminton Championships in a bid to secure their qualification for the London 2012 Olympics.

The National Badminton Centre in Lisburn, will play host to the pre Olympic qualifying tournament from the 8th – 11th December.
Chloe and Sam Magee from Raphoe have been handed the number one seeding for the mixed doubles event. They will be strong favourites to take the title following their recent Norwegian Open win, which moved them up to their highest ever ranking of 34 in the world.

Chloe said, “We were obviously really pleased with our win in Oslo which has given us a great boost coming into our home tournament. We are looking for another strong result in Lisburn to keep our Olympic mixed doubles qualification challenge on track and as only 16 pairs will qualify we will need some very strong results”.

Chloe added,” I am in a stronger position for Olympic qualification in the singles. Although I am only seeded number six I am confident of securing a strong result. I will need to play at my best as I have been drawn in the same quarter as former world number one and the top seed Pi – Hongyan”.

The other Olympic hopeful in the tournament is Scott Evans, who faces a tough draw with a first round tie against the English number 1 and Scottish Open winner, Rajiv Ouseph.

The Championships will also be an opportunity for Ulster’s young players to experience playing in a major championship. Ulster number ones Sinead Chambers and Tony Stephenson will be hoping to qualify for the main draw.

Richard Vaughan, Tournament Director and Badminton Ireland CEO said, “There is a high quality draw for these Championships which will give our strong group of young players a great opportunity to measure up to the highest of standards”.

Tickets can be obtained for all four days of the competition from Ulster Badminton by visiting

Championship seedings:
MS: (1) Pablo Abian (ESP) (2) Przemyslaw Wacha (POL)
WS: (1) Pi Hongyan (FRA) (2) Carolina Marin (ESP)
MD: (1) Adam Cwalina and Michal Logosz (POL) (2) Baptiste Careme and Sylvain Grosjean (FRA)
WD: (1) Line Damkjaer Kruse and Marie Roepke (DEN) (2) Lotte Jonathans and Paulien Van Dooremalen (NED)
XD: (1) Sam Magee and Chloe Magee (2) Zvonimir Durkinjak and Stasa Poznanovic (CRO)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.