Local Girls win Multiple Gold

Click here for the latest Top four odds from Betfair

Local girl Bethany Carson continued the flying form she showed at the European Short Course Championships last weekend on day two of the Irish Open SC Championships, picking up gold medals in the 50m freestyle (26.27) and the 100m butterfly (1.01.04). She was closely followed home in the 50m freestyle by Sycerika McMahon (Leander) 26.27, who carried on her winning ways from yesterday picking up another three gold medals in the 50m breaststroke (31.91), the 400m freestyle (4.13.42) and the 100m Individual Medley (1.02.63).

In the men’s events, Andrew Meegan and Conor Turner picked up a 1, 2 for Aer Lingus in the 1500m freestyle (15.30.26 and 15.30.78 respectively).

Barry Murphy withdrew from the final of the 100m freestyle to focus on the 100m breaststroke which he won in a time of 1.04.17. He then led the Aer Lingus men’s team to 2nd in the 4×50 freestyle team relay (1.36.49), finishing behind the team of Andy Hunter, David Graham, David Thompson and Steven McQuillan (1.36.03). Barry also broke the Irish Senior Record in the 50m butterfly on the way to breaking the 100m butterfly record yesterday.

Niall Wynn (NUIM Devils) was the clear winner in the 200m butterfly (2.01.17), finishing 3 seconds ahead of his nearest competitor Conor Donnelly (Leander) who finished in 2.04.02.

The women’s 4×50 freestyle team relay was won by the team from Lisburn City ASC consisting of Bethany Carson, Natasha Pollock, Chloe Richards and Rachel Smyth

The three day event runs from today until Sunday with heats starting at 09:30am and finals commencing at 16:30pm.

Full Results – Day 2:
Men’s 1500m freestyle: 1st A Meegan Aer Lingus SC 15.30.26 2nd C Turner Aer Lingus SC 15.30.78 3rd B Gibbons Athlone SC 15.33.37 Women’s 50m freestyle: 1st B Carson Lisburn City ASC 26.27 2nd S Mc Mahon Leander ASC 26.27 3rd K Reid Invictus ASC 26.57 Men’s 100m breaststroke: 1st B Murphy Aer Lingus SC 1.04.17 2nd A Schafer Berliner Tsc 1.05.58 3rd R Bardi Bardi 1.05.67 Women’s 200m backstroke: 1st J Roberts Kilkenny 2.13.88 2nd C Wilson Enniskillen Lakelanders SC 2.15.70 3rd E Cassidy Sundays Well SC 2.17.90 Men’s 200m butterfly: 1st N Wynn NUIM Devils 2.01.17 2nd C Donnelly Leander SC 2.04.02 3rd A Meegan Aer Lingus SC 2.04.34 Women’s 100m butterfly: 1st B Carson Lisburn City SC 1.01.04 2nd S O’Brien Waterford Crystal SC 1.01.20 3rd C Flood Tallaght SC 1.05.37 Men’s 50m backstroke: 1st K Burdis Portmarnock SC 25.25 2nd J Sloan Bangor ASC 26.06 3rd D Prendergast Kilkenny SC 26.40 Women’s 50m breaststroke: 1st S Mc Mahon Leander ASC 31.91 2nd S Mc Grath Comans SC 34.40 3rd N Bryson Templeogue SC 34.53 Men’s 200m IM: 1st C Duffy Galway SC 2.05.82 2nd B Cahill Ennis SC 2.06.46 3rd S O’Brien Aer Lingus SC 2.07.97 Women’s 400m freestyle: 1st S McMahon Leander ASC 4.13.42 2nd N O’Sullivan UCD SC 4.15.81 3rd S O’Brien Waterford Crystal SC 4.20.68 Men’s 100m freestyle: 1st C Coulter Ards ASC 50.53 2nd B Solymossy Atlantis SC 50.76 3rd D Prendergast Kilkenny SC 50.84 Women’s 100m IM: 1st S McMahon Leander ASC 1.02.63 2nd C Wilson Enniskillen Lakelanders ASC 1.06.14 3rd S McGrath Comans SC 1.07.36 Women’s 4x50m FTR: 1st Lisburn City ASC 1.50.41 2nd Templeogue SC 1.51.69 3rd Invictus ASC 1.52.04 Men’s 4x50m FTR: 1st Invictus ASC 1.36.03 2nd Aer Lingus SC 1.36.49 3rd Ards ASC 1.38.18


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.